Basics: short version, verdict first People Molecules Peptides Biomarkers Studies Stem Cells Editorial Methodology
Layer 1 · Decision
← All products

Alpha Lipoic Acid 400 mg

Antioxidant · Capsule · 120 servings

Label snapshot

What the label says

What the product contains and what one serving costs, according to our catalog. Label amounts are not personal dose recommendations.

Active per serving
Alpha-Lipoic Acid 400 mg
Form
Capsule
List price (catalog, USD)
$97.00
Price per serving
$0.81List price divided by servings per container. A per-day cost only if the label serving is once daily.
Full label record: servings, testing, ingredients
Servings per container
120
Catalog monthly estimate
$24.25
Testing disclosure
No third-party testing listedStatus as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Ingredients as listed

IngredientAmount per serving
Alpha-Lipoic Acid400 mg

What to check on the label

  • Whether the milligrams describe the whole extract or the standardised compound (for example '500 mg turmeric extract' versus '475 mg curcuminoids').
  • Delivery wording such as liposomal or phytosome changes the carrier, not the labelled amount.
  • For glutathione and sulforaphane, check whether the label lists the compound itself or a precursor (glucoraphanin, NAC).

Amounts are per label serving as recorded in the catalog and are not a recommendation. Testing status reflects what the brand lists. Nothing here is medical advice.

Editorial score and research-dose calculations

These calculations describe our scoring method. They are not a recommended dose or proof of benefit from this product.

7.4/10
Overall score
#3 / 25 in Antioxidant

Full trial dose.

Read the evidence (3 studies)
Watch out
Tier 4
Ingredient RCT (different dose)
The ingredient was tested in an RCT but at a different dose, or only in animals.
See the 3 supporting studies
How we scored this product Show the full breakdown
Composite How this 7.4 is built. 0.50 × 9.0 + 0.20 × 5.0 + 0.10 × 8.4 + 0.10 × 5.0 + 0.05 × 5.0 + 0.05 × 6.5 = 7.4 out of 10. Safety caps applied after. 7.4
7.4 composite
Dose vs. studies50%9.0
Transparency20%5.0
Value10%8.4
Formulation10%5.0
Safety5%5.0
Community5%6.5

Evidence gates dose: the evidence grade sets the ceiling, and the dose decides how much of that ceiling the product reaches. Value = inverse of price-per-trial-dose-day. Community = mean sentiment of external reviews. Safety caps applied after weighting.

This score is our editorial judgment, not a scientific standard. We combine published evidence, dose, price, transparency, and consumer signals into one composite: this is our method, not a peer-reviewed clinical rating. A higher score means a product does better on the factors we weight, not that it is medically proven to work.

Read the full method →

Editorial verdict

Quick verdict

7.4 / 10
Best for
Full trial dose, Budget-friendly
Avoid if
No public lab certificate
Full-dose status
Meets trial dose
Price/month
$24
COA status
Not public
Biggest caveat
No third-party testing, which caps the quality transparency.
Nearest alternatives
Catalog snapshot. Check linked sources for current price, label and batch-specific testing.
Price verification
Current price: $97.00
Last price check: Sep 01, 2026
Layer 2 · Context

Our summary

Pure Encapsulations' Alpha Lipoic Acid 400 mg is a high-purity, single-ingredient synthetic ALA capsule with a wide self-directed dosing range (400-1,600 mg/day) but no third-party testing or public COA for this SKU. The strongest positive clinical evidence for ALA in diabetic neuropathy (the ALADIN trial) used intravenous dosing that does not directly transfer to this oral product, while the more applicable oral-ALA meta-analyses support doses of 600-1,800 mg/day, meaning a buyer taking just one capsule daily is likely under-dosed relative to the studied range. This is a reasonable ingredient choice for people already advised to try ALA, but the label's broad dosing latitude puts the burden on the buyer to land in the actually-studied range.
In plain language

Why this scored this way

This Pure Encapsulations Alpha Lipoic Acid 400 mg scores 7.4, making it a mid-tier product with both strengths and weaknesses. It delivers 400mg of Alpha-Lipoic Acid, inside the studied range of 300–1200mg with grade A evidence (strong human trial data). The quality transparency (5.0) is limited by the lack of third-party testing.

What drives the score up

  • Dose-evidence score of 9.0 reflects good alignment with trial doses.
  • Alpha-Lipoic Acid is dosed at the full research level with grade A evidence (strong human trial data).

What drags it down

  • No third-party testing, which caps the quality transparency.
  • Quality transparency of 5.0 is below the site average.

Why you'd choose it

  • You want a reasonably priced antioxidant product.
  • You want Alpha-Lipoic Acid from a Pure Encapsulations product.
  • You want doses that align with published research.

Why you might skip it

  • You want third-party verified purity.
  • You want a product with a publicly available CoA.
  • You want better value (this is $1.21/day with a value score of 8.4).
Question 1

Does the molecule work?

The science behind each active ingredient, independent of which brand sells it.

Alpha-Lipoic Acid

Mitochondrial cofactor with genuine efficacy in diabetic neuropathy.

4 landmark RCTs · US: Dietary supplement · EU: Restricted in Italy/EU (safety review); food supplement elsewhere
Question 2

Is this bottle good?

The specific product: dose, price, transparency, and what buyers report.

Dose vs research
100% of trial dose
Meets or exceeds the published effective dose
Cost at trial dose
$1.21/day at trial dose
What one effective daily dose actually costs
Transparency
5.0/10 · No public lab certificate
No third-party testing disclosed
Consumer signals
No consumer signals collected yet
Operational signal only, never used as clinical evidence
Question 3

What's the catch?

Safety flags, transparency gaps, dosing concerns, and recurring buyer complaints.

No public lab certificate
Certificate of Analysis not published
Without a public lab certificate, batch purity and potency cannot be independently verified.
No third-party testing
Independent lab verification not disclosed
The brand does not publish evidence of independent batch testing.
Buyer complaints
Trustpilot: brand-level score is low, not product-specific; Amazon: yellow or strong-smelling urine
Recurring themes from consumer review platforms.
Plain English

What’s inside

The main ingredients of this product, in plain language.

Alpha-Lipoic Acid400 mgEvidence A

Mitochondrial cofactor with genuine efficacy in diabetic neuropathy.

Read about Alpha-Lipoic Acid →
Layer 3 · Evidence vault

Product data & verification

Hard numbers and independently checked status. Expand each block for its source.

The numbers

Price
$97
per bottle · 120 servings
Dose vs. research
of trial dose 100%
of published effective dose
$ / day at studied dose
$1.21
what one effective daily dose costs
$ / g active
$2.02
per gram of active substance
Independently checked

Data verification

COA status
Not public
Evidence grade
A
Per-ingredient breakdown
AAlpha-Lipoic Acid

All product data is checked against original sources. Prices, doses, and testing status are updated when product pages change. Evidence grades are reviewed when new human RCTs are published. Read how we verify.

What's inside

Ingredient
Dose in this product
Trial dose
Evidence
400 mg 67% of trial dose
600 mg
2.7 /5
Medium confidence
8 reviews across 4 platforms (4 sources)
Source diversity: 92%
AmazonRedditTrustpilotiHerb
Praisetrusted supplement brandboosted energy and mental clarity
Complaintsbrand-level score is low, not product-specificyellow or strong-smelling urine
Last checked: 2026-08-20

Consumer signals

Consumer signals gathered from 5 platforms.

Low confidence, small sample

Consumer sentiment compiled from 4 public sources; most Trustpilot data reflects brand-level rather than product-specific feedback.

8 reviews · 2.4/5 · mixed sentiment

Praisetrusted supplement brand
Complaintsbrand-level score is low, not product-specific
Themes

Trustpilot score reflects the brand overall, not this specific product; scores skew low despite product-level praise elsewhere.

Compiled from Trustpilot listing located during research; verified at build time.

positive sentiment

Praiseboosted energy and mental claritystrong antioxidant support
Complaintsyellow or strong-smelling urine
Themes

Buyers report better energy and clarity, with mild urine odor as the main complaint.

Compiled from Amazon listing located during research; verified at build time.

positive sentiment

Praiserelief from nerve/neuropathy paineasy to swallow
Themes

iHerb reviewers highlight relief from nerve pain and fast, reliable delivery.

Compiled from iHerb listing located during research; verified at build time.

2 threads discussed · mixed sentiment

Praisereported relief from neuropathy symptoms
Complaintseffectiveness debated for some users
Themes

Reddit threads on ALA for neuropathy show some users reporting relief, though effectiveness is debated generally for the ingredient.

Compiled from Reddit listing located during research; verified at build time.

1 thread discussed · positive sentiment

Themes

used specifically for nerve-pain symptom relief rather than general antioxidant support

anecdotal improvement reported over a period of weeks, not immediate

These are consumer sentiment signals. They do not measure whether the product actually works. See our evidence section for that.

Independent external anchors

Public sources on this same product, unrelated to NO1GEVITY. NIH DSLD is the US government's registered label database (shown verbatim). SuppCo.com is a separate, unaffiliated commercial site with no partnership or data-sharing arrangement with us. NO1GEVITY scores are computed independently of both.

Unaffiliated third-party site
SuppCo.com

SuppCo is a separate, unaffiliated supplement-tracking site with no partnership, data-sharing agreement, or business relationship with NO1GEVITY. We are not endorsed by them and they do not endorse us. The two facts below are individually verified against the manufacturer or NSF; the outbound link is provided only so readers can independently cross-check on a third-party site if they want to.

NIH DSLD registered label
DSLD ID 219092, UPC 7 66298 00473 0
Serving size1-2 Capsule(s)
Servings per container120
Supplement Facts panel, verbatim
Alpha Lipoic Acid400 mg
Ascorbyl Palmitate16 mg

What others say (unverified)

No external reviews aggregated yet for this product.

Layer 3 · Evidence vault

Evidence, claims & regulation

Published evidence, claim checks, regulatory status and what could not be verified.

Evidence, what actually backs this product

Longevity brands rarely test their exact finished product. We separate what's tested from what's inferred.

Strongest evidence tier
Tier 4Ingredient RCT (different dose)
2 studies mapped
Tier 0No source
The Effect of Intravenous Alpha-Lipoic Acid on Peripheral Nerve Function in Diabetic Patients (ALADIN Study)
Ziegler D, Hanefeld M, Ruhnau KJ, et al. · 1995 · Diabetologia · IV alpha-lipoic acid 600 mg/day · 3 weeks
ingredient-levelpeer-reviewed
Reduced diabetic neuropathy symptom score by 63.5% versus 38.4% with placebo (p<0.001).
This is the landmark positive ALA neuropathy trial frequently cited by supplement marketing, but the route of administration is intravenous, not oral. Pure Encapsulations' product is an oral capsule; oral ALA has substantially lower and more variable bioavailability than IV dosing, so this trial's result cannot be assumed to transfer directly to an oral 400 mg capsule.
Conflicts: Not disclosed in the available citation; industry funding for ALADIN-series trials (originally studied a branded IV ALA drug in Germany) is plausible but not confirmed here
Tier 4Ingredient RCT (different dose)
Efficacy and safety of oral alpha-lipoic acid for diabetic peripheral neuropathy: a systematic review and meta-analysis
Multiple (meta-analysis of oral ALA RCTs) · 2025 · Peer-reviewed diabetes/endocrinology journal (2024/2025 meta-analysis) · n=1345 · 600-1,800 mg/day oral · Varies by included trial, generally weeks to months
ingredient-levelpeer-reviewed
Reported significant improvements in HbA1c, neuropathy impairment score, total symptom score, neuropathy disability score, and vibration perception threshold across the pooled oral trials.
This meta-analysis of ORAL (not IV) ALA trials used doses of 600-1,800 mg/day, which requires 2-4+ capsules/day of this 400 mg product; a single capsule (400 mg) is below this studied range. An earlier, smaller systematic review of 8 oral RCTs (1,500 patients) found only 3 of 8 trials showed significant improvement, so the oral evidence base, while more applicable to this product's route of administration, is more mixed than the IV literature.
Conflicts: Not identified in available summary
Evidence

Research behind this product

The studies that established the trial dose and evidence grade for each active ingredient in this product. Click through to read the original paper.

Claim check, vendor claims vs. our reading of the evidence

Not medical advice. We list the strongest claims made by the brand and check each against traceable evidence.

Partial support
“Supports healthy glucose metabolism and antioxidant status”
Oral ALA meta-analyses do show glucose-related improvements (HbA1c, neuropathy markers) at 600-1,800 mg/day (https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC8234027/), a range this product reaches only at 2+ capsules/day, not the single-capsule dose. The landmark ALADIN trial often invoked for ALA's neuropathy benefits used intravenous dosing (https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/8786016/), which is not comparable to this oral capsule's expected bioavailability, a route-of-administration gap the vendor page does not address.

Regulatory status

Rules change often. We record when we last verified each row. See the full regulatory timeline →

What we could not verify

We list this openly. If a claim isn't backed by a source we can trace, we'd rather flag it than repeat it.

  • No public Certificate of Analysis or independent third-party lab test was found for this specific SKU.
  • No RCT was located using this exact oral 400 mg capsule as the study material.
  • The vendor's suggested-use range (1-4 capsules/day) spans a fourfold dose difference, and the label does not specify which dose within that range is supported by which cited outcome.
  • The strongest positive neuropathy trial (ALADIN) used intravenous administration; oral bioavailability of ALA is known to be lower and more variable, so this trial should not be read as direct evidence for this oral product.
Important to know
Alpha-Lipoic AcidCheap 'ALA' products sell the racemic form (50% inactive). Look for 'R-ALA' or 'R-alpha-lipoic acid'. Take on empty stomach.

Editorial notes

A single-ingredient 400mg ALA capsule at the pricier end (~$0.81-1.62/day) versus the brand's own 100/200/600mg tiers, mid-range dose within ALA's typical 100-1200mg/day research range for glucose/nerve support.

Brand owners

Spot an error?

If you are the manufacturer or brand owner of Alpha Lipoic Acid 400 mg and believe any data on this page is incorrect (wrong dose, wrong ingredient, wrong price, missing certification, outdated status), you can request a correction.

We review every request, verify it against primary sources, and publish any accepted change with a dated note. Corrections from brand owners are treated the same as corrections from anyone else: verified before they move.

Request a correction →
Same shelf

Similar products

All Antioxidant →

The next highest-scoring products in Antioxidant, same scoring method, same rules.

Antioxidant
Active per serving
Alpha-Lipoic Acid 1,000 mgCapsule · 30 servings
Price per serving
$0.83$24.97 · 30 servings
Testing
3rd-party listed · no public lab certificate

Status as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Score & research context 8.0/10

Editorial score, not proof that this product works. Research-dose calculations are not dosing advice.

100%
of trial dose
$0.50
per research-dose day, not label serving
0Trial dose2×
Catalog price · Confirm current price with www.toniiq.com
Double Wood Supplements
Antioxidant
Active per serving
Quercetin 1,000 mgCapsule · 30 servings
Price per serving
$0.83$24.95 · 30 servings
Testing
3rd-party listed · public lab certificate

Status as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Score & research context 7.6/10

Editorial score, not proof that this product works. Research-dose calculations are not dosing advice.

100%
of trial dose
$0.42
per research-dose day, not label serving
0Trial dose2×
Catalog price · Confirm current price with doublewoodsupplements.com
DoNotAge
Antioxidant
Active per serving
Magnesium 800 mgElemental vs compound: check label
Price per serving
$0.27$98.00 · 366 servings
Testing
3rd-party listed · no public lab certificate

Undisclosed amounts noted

Status as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Score & research context 7.0/10

Editorial score, not proof that this product works. Research-dose calculations are not dosing advice.

400%
of trial dose
$0.10
per research-dose day, not label serving
400% · over 2× trial dose0Trial dose2×
Catalog price · Confirm current price with donotage.org
Same maker

Other products from Pure Encapsulations

Brand profile →
Pure Encapsulations
Omega
Omega-3 as listed
1,000 mgEPA/DHA split not stored
Price per serving
$1.52$45.50 · 30 servings
Testing
3rd-party listed · no public lab certificate

Status as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Score & research context 8.2/10

Editorial score, not proof that this product works. Research-dose calculations are not dosing advice.

100%
of trial dose
$3.03
per research-dose day, not label serving
0Trial dose2×
Catalog price · Confirm current price with www.pureencapsulations.com
Pure Encapsulations
Mitochondrial
Active per serving
CoQ10 120 mgCapsule · 60 servings
Price per serving
$0.75$45.00 · 60 servings
Testing
3rd-party listed · public lab certificate

Status as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Score & research context 6.8/10

Editorial score, not proof that this product works. Research-dose calculations are not dosing advice.

100%
of trial dose
$1.25
per research-dose day, not label serving
0Trial dose2×
Catalog price · Confirm current price with www.pureencapsulations.com
Pure Encapsulations
Amino acid
Active per serving
NAC 900 mgCapsule · 240 servings
Price per serving
$0.42$101.00 · 240 servings
Testing
None listed

Status as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Score & research context 6.7/10

Editorial score, not proof that this product works. Research-dose calculations are not dosing advice.

100%
of trial dose
$0.28
per research-dose day, not label serving
0Trial dose2×
Catalog price · Confirm current price with www.pureencapsulationspro.com
Pure Encapsulations
Mitochondrial
Active per serving
CoQ10 100 mgSoftgel · 60 servings
Price per serving
$1.65$99.00 · 60 servings
Testing
None listed

Status as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Score & research context 6.1/10

Editorial score, not proof that this product works. Research-dose calculations are not dosing advice.

100%
of trial dose
$3.30
per research-dose day, not label serving
0Trial dose2×
Catalog price · Confirm current price with www.pureencapsulationspro.com
Pure Encapsulations
Antioxidant
Active per serving
Glutathione 375 mgSoftgel · 30 servings
Price per serving
$2.25$67.50 · 30 servings
Testing
None listed

Status as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Score & research context 5.7/10

Editorial score, not proof that this product works. Research-dose calculations are not dosing advice.

100%
of trial dose
$3.00
per research-dose day, not label serving
0Trial dose2×
Catalog price · Confirm current price with www.pureencapsulationspro.com