Basics: short version, verdict first People Molecules Peptides Biomarkers Studies Stem Cells Editorial Methodology
Layer 1 · Decision
← All products

NAC (N-Acetyl-L-Cysteine) 900 mg

Amino acid · Capsule · 240 servings

Label snapshot

What the label says

What the product contains and what one serving costs, according to our catalog. Label amounts are not personal dose recommendations.

Active per serving
NAC 900 mg
Form
Capsule
List price (catalog, USD)
$101.00
Price per serving
$0.42List price divided by servings per container. A per-day cost only if the label serving is once daily.
Full label record: servings, testing, ingredients
Servings per container
240
Catalog monthly estimate
$12.62
Testing disclosure
No third-party testing listedStatus as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Ingredients as listed

IngredientAmount per serving
NAC900 mg

What to check on the label

  • The compound form (creatine monohydrate, NAC, glycine) and the grams per scoop or per capsule.
  • Scoop size versus the catalog serving. Some labels define a serving as two scoops.
  • Flavoured versions add sweeteners and fillers under 'other ingredients'.

Amounts are per label serving as recorded in the catalog and are not a recommendation. Testing status reflects what the brand lists. Nothing here is medical advice.

Editorial score and research-dose calculations

These calculations describe our scoring method. They are not a recommended dose or proof of benefit from this product.

6.7/10
Overall score
#6 / 13 in Amino acid

Top 25% value.

Read the evidence (1 study)
Watch out
Tier 3
Ingredient RCT (matching dose)
The ingredient was tested in an RCT at the same dose this product sells.
See the 1 supporting study
How we scored this product Show the full breakdown
Composite How this 6.7 is built. 0.50 × 7.2 + 0.20 × 5.0 + 0.10 × 9.7 + 0.10 × 5.0 + 0.05 × 5.0 + 0.05 × 6.9 = 6.7 out of 10. Safety caps applied after. 6.7
6.7 composite
Dose vs. studies50%7.2
Transparency20%5.0
Value10%9.7
Formulation10%5.0
Safety5%5.0
Community5%6.9

Evidence gates dose: the evidence grade sets the ceiling, and the dose decides how much of that ceiling the product reaches. Value = inverse of price-per-trial-dose-day. Community = mean sentiment of external reviews. Safety caps applied after weighting.

This score is our editorial judgment, not a scientific standard. We combine published evidence, dose, price, transparency, and consumer signals into one composite: this is our method, not a peer-reviewed clinical rating. A higher score means a product does better on the factors we weight, not that it is medically proven to work.

Read the full method →

Editorial verdict

Quick verdict

6.7 / 10
Best for
Full trial dose, Budget-friendly
Avoid if
No public lab certificate
Full-dose status
Meets trial dose
Price/month
$13
COA status
Not public
Biggest caveat
No third-party testing, which caps the quality transparency.
Nearest alternatives
Catalog snapshot. Check linked sources for current price, label and batch-specific testing.
Price verification
Current price: $101.00
Last price check: Sep 01, 2026
Layer 2 · Context

Our summary

Pure Encapsulations' NAC 900 mg delivers a straightforward, single-ingredient dose of N-acetylcysteine with no blend without listed amounts or added actives, sold currently under FDA's enforcement-discretion policy for NAC rather than a settled legal supplement status. The strongest matching clinical evidence for NAC as an ingredient sits at 600 mg/day and above for fertility and metabolic markers, roughly two-thirds of this product's per-capsule dose, so buyers taking one capsule a day are close to but not squarely on the most-studied dose. The absence of third-party testing or a public COA for this specific SKU is the most consequential gap for a buyer trying to verify what's actually in the capsule.
In plain language

Why this scored this way

This Pure Encapsulations NAC (N-Acetyl-L-Cysteine) 900 mg scores 6.7, making it a mid-tier product with both strengths and weaknesses. It delivers 900mg of NAC, inside the studied range of 600–1800mg with grade B evidence (promising human data, not yet comprehensive). The quality transparency (5.0) is limited by the lack of third-party testing. At $0.28/day it's priced well for what you get.

What drives the score up

  • Dose-evidence score of 7.2 shows decent alignment with trial doses.
  • Value score of 9.7 at $0.28/day.
  • NAC is dosed at the full research level with grade B evidence (promising human data, not yet comprehensive).

What drags it down

  • No third-party testing, which caps the quality transparency.
  • Quality transparency of 5.0 is below the site average.

Why you'd choose it

  • You want good value at $0.28/day.
  • You want NAC from a Pure Encapsulations product.
  • You want doses that align with published research.

Why you might skip it

  • You want third-party verified purity.
  • You want a product with a publicly available CoA.
  • You want stronger transparency (this scores 5.0).
Question 1

Does the molecule work?

The science behind each active ingredient, independent of which brand sells it.

NAC

Cysteine donor for glutathione synthesis; drug-strength efficacy for specific uses.

1 landmark RCT · US: Dietary supplement (FDA position volatile) · EU: Food supplement; drug in some countries at doses ≥200 mg
Question 2

Is this bottle good?

The specific product: dose, price, transparency, and what buyers report.

Dose vs research
100% of trial dose
Meets or exceeds the published effective dose
Cost at trial dose
$0.28/day at trial dose
What one effective daily dose actually costs
Transparency
5.0/10 · No public lab certificate
No third-party testing disclosed
Consumer signals
No consumer signals collected yet
Operational signal only, never used as clinical evidence
Question 3

What's the catch?

Safety flags, transparency gaps, dosing concerns, and recurring buyer complaints.

No public lab certificate
Certificate of Analysis not published
Without a public lab certificate, batch purity and potency cannot be independently verified.
No third-party testing
Independent lab verification not disclosed
The brand does not publish evidence of independent batch testing.
Buyer complaints
Amazon: Capsule taste when opened; iHerb: Higher price than generic NAC
Recurring themes from consumer review platforms.
Plain English

What’s inside

The main ingredients of this product, in plain language.

NAC900 mgEvidence B

Cysteine donor for glutathione synthesis; drug-strength efficacy for specific uses.

Read about NAC →
Layer 3 · Evidence vault

Product data & verification

Hard numbers and independently checked status. Expand each block for its source.

The numbers

Price
$101
per bottle · 240 servings
Dose vs. research
of trial dose 100%
of published effective dose
$ / day at studied dose
$0.28
what one effective daily dose costs
$ / g active
$0.47
per gram of active substance
Independently checked

Data verification

COA status
Not public
Evidence grade
B
Per-ingredient breakdown
BNAC

All product data is checked against original sources. Prices, doses, and testing status are updated when product pages change. Evidence grades are reviewed when new human RCTs are published. Read how we verify.

What's inside

Ingredient
Dose in this product
Trial dose
Evidence
NAC
Cysteine donor for glutathione synthesis; drug-strength efficacy for specific uses.
900 mg 150% of trial dose
600 mg
3.4 /5
Medium confidence
13 reviews across 3 platforms (4 sources)
Source diversity: 77%
AmazonTrustpilotiHerb
PraiseGood for kids (mixed with food)Effective for lung support
ComplaintsCapsule taste when openedHigher price than generic NAC
Last checked: 2026-08-20

Consumer signals

Consumer signals gathered from 5 platforms.

Low confidence, small sample

Consumer sentiment compiled from 3 public sources.

5.0/5 · positive sentiment

PraiseGood for kids (mixed with food)Effective for lung support
ComplaintsCapsule taste when opened
Themes

Amazon reviewers, including parents giving it to children, report high satisfaction with efficacy and tolerability.

Compiled from Amazon listing located during research; verified at build time.

positive sentiment

PraiseNoticeable lung/respiratory supportDoctor recommended
ComplaintsHigher price than generic NAC
Themes

iHerb reviewers report strong outcomes for lung and respiratory health, including post-surgical recovery anecdotes.

Compiled from iHerb listing located during research; verified at build time.

4.8/5 · positive sentiment

PraiseHigh average rating for category
ComplaintsPremium pricing vs generic NAC
Themes

Third-party review aggregator healthquay notes Pure Encapsulations NAC 900mg carries an unusually high average rating for its category.

Compiled from Amazon (Trustpilot cross-reference via healthquay) listing located during research; verified at build time.

13 reviews · 2.7/5

2 threads discussed · mixed sentiment

Themes

general brand-pricing skepticism (not specific to this SKU's potency)

some commenters prefer NAC ethyl ester over standard NAC for bioavailability, a formulation debate rather than a complaint about this product

These are consumer sentiment signals. They do not measure whether the product actually works. See our evidence section for that.

Independent external anchors

Public sources on this same product, unrelated to NO1GEVITY. NIH DSLD is the US government's registered label database (shown verbatim). SuppCo.com is a separate, unaffiliated commercial site with no partnership or data-sharing arrangement with us. NO1GEVITY scores are computed independently of both.

NIH DSLD registered label
DSLD ID 219574, UPC 7 66298 00332 0
Serving size1-2 Capsule(s)
Servings per container240
Supplement Facts panel, verbatim
N-Acetyl-L-Cysteine900 mg

What others say, with a source hierarchy

We treat external opinion very differently depending on where it comes from. Tier A is our strongest signal. Tier C is background sentiment only. Tier Rejected is what we excluded, listed openly so you can see what we discarded.

These reviews are aggregated from third-party sources, not written by NO1GEVITY. Each entry shows its source, retrieval date, and whether the source has an affiliate or paid relationship. We do not edit reviews to change their meaning. Disclosure policy.

Tier A

Independent deep reviews, lab tests, certificates of analysis

Our strongest external evidence. Long-form independent reviews, physical-product lab work, and third-party certifications.

Innerbody, 'Best NAC Supplement' roundup
Has affiliate relationship Not a paid placement

Innerbody's independently-tested NAC comparison favors other brands over Pure Encapsulations for its 'best overall' slot as of 2026.

Finding: Names Wholesome Story as best overall NAC supplement in its 2026 rankings; Pure Encapsulations' NAC 900 mg is not named as the top pick in this specific roundup.
How we use it: Used as a category-context data point; Innerbody discloses an affiliate model but applies disclosed testing methodology, so it clears the Tier A bar per this site's sourcing rules. Not used to make a claim about this specific SKU's dose or efficacy, only about competitive market positioning.
Layer 3 · Evidence vault

Evidence, claims & regulation

Published evidence, claim checks, regulatory status and what could not be verified.

Evidence, what actually backs this product

Longevity brands rarely test their exact finished product. We separate what's tested from what's inferred.

Strongest evidence tier
Tier 3Ingredient RCT (matching dose)
4 studies mapped
Tier 3Ingredient RCT (matching dose)
Effect of N-acetylcysteine on semen parameters and oxidative/antioxidant status (male fertility RCTs, pooled)
Multiple independent trial groups (as summarized in review literature) · 2019 · Various urology/andrology journals · 600 mg/day · 3-6 months
ingredient-levelpeer-reviewed
Improved sperm quality parameters and reproductive hormone levels versus placebo across cited trials.
600 mg/day matches Thorne's single-capsule dose closely and is within one capsule of Pure Encapsulations' 900 mg dose taken once daily; this is the strongest dose-matched signal for either product, but it is fertility-specific, not a general longevity or antioxidant claim.
Conflicts: None identified (as reported in secondary review)
Tier 4Ingredient RCT (different dose)
N-acetylcysteine improves biochemical and clinical response in patients with mild to moderate metabolic dysfunction-associated steatotic liver disease (randomized controlled trial)
Iranian research group (MASLD RCT) · 2021 · Peer-reviewed journal (PMC-indexed) · n=69 · 600 mg, 3x/day (1800 mg/day total) · 8 weeks
ingredient-levelpeer-reviewed
No significant effect on liver enzymes or steatosis grade, but significantly increased total glutathione (552.1 to 641.9 mmol/L, p=0.003) and reduced fasting glucose, insulin, HOMA-IR, and CRP.
Dose (1800 mg/day) is double the Thorne label's single-capsule dose (500 mg) and double Pure Encapsulations' single-capsule dose (900 mg); relevant mainly as a marker of what a higher cumulative NAC dose can do metabolically, not proof either single-capsule product replicates this.
Conflicts: None identified
Tier 5Mechanistic / animal / marketing
N-Acetylcysteine: Impacts on Human Health
Elhini SH, Wu M, Bishop C, et al. (review) · 2021 · Antioxidants (MDPI) / PMC review · 400-2400 mg/day across cited trials · Varies by cited trial, weeks to months
ingredient-levelpeer-reviewed
Summarizes multiple RCTs showing NAC reduces oxidative stress markers and has modest, condition-specific benefits (COPD mucolysis, male fertility, some psychiatric adjunct use); effects are dose- and population-dependent, not uniform.
This is a narrative review, not a single trial, used here to anchor the general dose range (600 mg/day most common) and to flag that benefits are condition-specific, not a general 'detox' or longevity effect.
Conflicts: None identified
Tier 5Mechanistic / animal / marketing
Effect of Combined Glycine and N-Acetylcysteine Supplementation on Glutathione Deficiency, Oxidative Stress, Mitochondrial Dysfunction, and Physical Function in Older Adults (GlyNAC pilot RCT)
Kumar P, Liu Y, Hyder J, et al. · 2022 · Journals of Gerontology: Series A / PMC · n=114 · 2.4 / 4.8 / 7.2 g/day combined glycine+NAC (1:1 ratio; NAC portion 1.2-3.6 g/day) · 2 weeks
ingredient-levelpeer-reviewed
Did not meet its primary endpoint of raising total glutathione across the full cohort; a post-hoc subgroup with high baseline oxidative stress and low glutathione showed an increase at medium/high doses (p=0.016).
NAC is combined with glycine here (not standalone), at doses several-fold higher than either product's per-capsule NAC amount, and the primary endpoint was negative for the overall group, this is supportive of a biological rationale, not proof that a single 500-900 mg NAC capsule raises glutathione.
Conflicts: Academic-funded (Baylor College of Medicine); no vendor sponsorship identified
Evidence

Research behind this product

The studies that established the trial dose and evidence grade for each active ingredient in this product. Click through to read the original paper.

Claim check, vendor claims vs. our reading of the evidence

Not medical advice. We list the strongest claims made by the brand and check each against traceable evidence.

Partial support
“NAC supplements are legal to sell in the US”
True in practice today, but only because FDA is exercising enforcement discretion (final guidance issued August 1, 2022) after having taken the position in 2020 that NAC is excluded from the legal definition of a dietary supplement. This is a provisional non-enforcement policy, not a settled legal green light, and could change if FDA completes rulemaking. Buyers should understand NAC's US legal status is administratively tolerated, not statutorily secure (https://www.fda.gov/regulatory-information/search-fda-guidance-documents/guidance-industry-policy-regarding-n-acetyl-l-cysteine).
N/A, general market fact, not a specific vendor claim
Partial support
“Supports respiratory health and antioxidant/glutathione status (general ingredient positioning; page does not make disease claims)”
NAC is a legitimate glutathione precursor and is a licensed mucolytic drug in many countries at similar doses, so the mechanistic basis is real. But the vendor page does not cite a specific RCT, and the strongest human evidence (male fertility, MASLD glutathione increase) is at 600-1800 mg/day, not clearly matched to the exact 900 mg once- or twice-daily label dose. General 'antioxidant support' framing outruns the specificity of the underlying trials (https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC8234027/).

Regulatory status

Rules change often. We record when we last verified each row. See the full regulatory timeline →

What we could not verify

We list this openly. If a claim isn't backed by a source we can trace, we'd rather flag it than repeat it.

  • No public Certificate of Analysis or independent third-party lab test found for this specific SKU, actual NAC content and purity cannot be independently confirmed.
  • No peer-reviewed RCT was located using this exact product (Pure Encapsulations' 900 mg capsule) as the study material; all cited evidence is at the ingredient level using different doses.
  • The product page does not disclose a specific clinical citation for its general 'antioxidant support' positioning.
  • Long-term safety of chronic daily use above 1200 mg/day (i.e., 2+ capsules) has not been established by dedicated long-duration RCTs in this review.
Important to know
NACSmells like sulfur (rotten eggs). Enteric-coated forms reduce this. Don't combine with nitrates without medical supervision.

Editorial notes

Straightforward single-ingredient 900mg NAC capsule at a market-typical dose for glutathione precursor support; priced at the higher end for practitioner-channel NAC (~$0.42-0.84/day depending on 1-2 capsule dosing).

Brand owners

Spot an error?

If you are the manufacturer or brand owner of NAC (N-Acetyl-L-Cysteine) 900 mg and believe any data on this page is incorrect (wrong dose, wrong ingredient, wrong price, missing certification, outdated status), you can request a correction.

We review every request, verify it against primary sources, and publish any accepted change with a dated note. Corrections from brand owners are treated the same as corrections from anyone else: verified before they move.

Request a correction →
Same shelf

Similar products

All Amino acid →

The next highest-scoring products in Amino acid, same scoring method, same rules.

Thorne HealthTech
Amino acid
Active per serving
Creatine 5 gPowder · 90 servings
Price per serving
$0.49$44.00 · 90 servings
Testing
3rd-party listed · no public lab certificate

Status as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Score & research context 8.9/10

Editorial score, not proof that this product works. Research-dose calculations are not dosing advice.

100%
of trial dose
$0.49
per research-dose day, not label serving
0Trial dose2×
Catalog price · Confirm current price with www.thorne.com
BulkSupplements
Amino acid
Active per serving
Glycine 3,000 mgPowder · 100 servings
Price per serving
$0.20$20.00 · 100 servings
Testing
3rd-party listed · public lab certificate

Status as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Score & research context 7.6/10

Editorial score, not proof that this product works. Research-dose calculations are not dosing advice.

100%
of trial dose
$0.20
per research-dose day, not label serving
0Trial dose2×
Catalog price · Confirm current price with www.bulksupplements.com
Double Wood Supplements
Amino acid
Active per serving
Glycine 1,000 mgCapsule · 120 servings
Price per serving
$0.17$19.95 · 120 servings
Testing
3rd-party listed · public lab certificate

Status as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Score & research context 7.6/10

Editorial score, not proof that this product works. Research-dose calculations are not dosing advice.

100%
of trial dose
$0.50
per research-dose day, not label serving
0Trial dose2×
Catalog price · Confirm current price with doublewoodsupplements.com
Same maker

Other products from Pure Encapsulations

Brand profile →
Pure Encapsulations
Omega
Omega-3 as listed
1,000 mgEPA/DHA split not stored
Price per serving
$1.52$45.50 · 30 servings
Testing
3rd-party listed · no public lab certificate

Status as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Score & research context 8.2/10

Editorial score, not proof that this product works. Research-dose calculations are not dosing advice.

100%
of trial dose
$3.03
per research-dose day, not label serving
0Trial dose2×
Catalog price · Confirm current price with www.pureencapsulations.com
Pure Encapsulations
Antioxidant
Active per serving
Alpha-Lipoic Acid 400 mgCapsule · 120 servings
Price per serving
$0.81$97.00 · 120 servings
Testing
None listed

Status as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Score & research context 7.4/10

Editorial score, not proof that this product works. Research-dose calculations are not dosing advice.

100%
of trial dose
$1.21
per research-dose day, not label serving
0Trial dose2×
Catalog price · Confirm current price with www.pureencapsulationspro.com
Pure Encapsulations
Mitochondrial
Active per serving
CoQ10 120 mgCapsule · 60 servings
Price per serving
$0.75$45.00 · 60 servings
Testing
3rd-party listed · public lab certificate

Status as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Score & research context 6.8/10

Editorial score, not proof that this product works. Research-dose calculations are not dosing advice.

100%
of trial dose
$1.25
per research-dose day, not label serving
0Trial dose2×
Catalog price · Confirm current price with www.pureencapsulations.com
Pure Encapsulations
Mitochondrial
Active per serving
CoQ10 100 mgSoftgel · 60 servings
Price per serving
$1.65$99.00 · 60 servings
Testing
None listed

Status as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Score & research context 6.1/10

Editorial score, not proof that this product works. Research-dose calculations are not dosing advice.

100%
of trial dose
$3.30
per research-dose day, not label serving
0Trial dose2×
Catalog price · Confirm current price with www.pureencapsulationspro.com
Pure Encapsulations
Antioxidant
Active per serving
Glutathione 375 mgSoftgel · 30 servings
Price per serving
$2.25$67.50 · 30 servings
Testing
None listed

Status as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Score & research context 5.7/10

Editorial score, not proof that this product works. Research-dose calculations are not dosing advice.

100%
of trial dose
$3.00
per research-dose day, not label serving
0Trial dose2×
Catalog price · Confirm current price with www.pureencapsulationspro.com