Study
Low-Dose Fisetin Supplementation and Chronic Inflammation in Middle-Aged and Older Adults: Study Protocol for a Triple-Blind, Randomised, Placebo-Controlled Trial
Published protocol for a triple-blind trial of 100 mg fisetin daily for 7 weeks in adults 50+, measuring plasma suPAR. No results reported.
Summary Can a low daily dose of fisetin reduce inflammation in older adults? Show / hide ↓
Researchers planned a study in generally healthy adults aged 50 and older. Participants will take either 100 milligrams of fisetin, a plant compound sold as a supplement, or a matching dummy pill every day for seven weeks. The main measure is suPAR, a blood marker linked to ongoing low-level inflammation. The study is designed so participants, researchers, and assessors do not know who gets fisetin, but this paper reports the plan only and has no results or stated participant number.
What this means for you: This study does not yet show that fisetin works or that this dose is safe and useful. There is no good reason to buy fisetin based on this protocol alone.
early evidenceTavenier and colleagues published the protocol for a triple-blind, randomised, placebo-controlled trial of low-dose fisetin. Participants take 100 mg of oral fisetin or matching placebo once daily for seven weeks. The primary outcome is the between-group difference in the change in plasma soluble urokinase plasminogen activator receptor, or suPAR, from baseline to week 7. suPAR is a marker of chronic inflammation. Exploratory outcomes cover further inflammation and senescence biomarkers, frailty, and physical and cognitive function. The target population is generally healthy adults aged 50 and older. The protocol paper does not state the number of participants to be randomised.
Funding comes from the Capital Region of Denmark's Research Funds (grants 2024-0014, A7537, A7238), Brodrene Hartmanns Fond (A39435), Beckett-Fonden (23-2-10655), the ROCKWOOL Foundation, Danmarks Frie Forskningsfond under the Inge Lehmann programme, and Amager and Hvidovre Hospital.
Two things are worth separating here. The dose is low. Most fisetin senolytic research uses short high-dose pulses. The osteoarthritis senolytic trial NCT04210986, for example, gives about 20 mg per kilogram of body weight per day for two consecutive days followed by 28 days off, which for an 80 kg adult is roughly 1600 mg per dosing day. This trial instead gives 100 mg every day for seven weeks, a continuous low-dose design closer to how fisetin supplements are actually sold and taken. That makes the result directly relevant to consumers, whichever way it goes.
No results are reported. This is a protocol, so it tells us what will be measured, not what was found.
Protocol only: no data, no effect size, no safety results, and no stated sample size. A protocol publication is a statement of intent, not evidence, and it does not change the fisetin evidence grade, which stays at C. The primary outcome is a single inflammation biomarker, suPAR, rather than a clinical endpoint, so even a positive result would show a biomarker shift and not a health outcome.
Dismissed for grading purposes. No change to the fisetin rating, which stays at grade C.
A protocol reports no results, so there is nothing to grade. This matches how we handled the resveratrol protocol in August 2026. We keep the entry because the design is unusually relevant to consumers: 100 mg daily is a realistic supplement dose, unlike the high-dose pulses used in most fisetin research.
- Results publication reporting the primary suPAR outcome at week 7
- The randomised sample size, which the protocol does not state
- Whether 100 mg daily moves any senescence biomarker at all
- Reported adverse events at a continuous low dose over 7 weeks
Expected readout: Not stated in the protocol · Decision recorded 2026-08-26
Cited by
1 encyclopedia entries reference this study.