Basics: short version, verdict first People Molecules Peptides Biomarkers Studies Stem Cells Editorial Methodology
Layer 1 · Decision
← All products

DS-01® Daily Synbiotic

Microbiome · Capsule · 30 servings

Label snapshot

What the label says

What the product contains and what one serving costs, according to our catalog. Label amounts are not personal dose recommendations.

Listed per serving
Probiotics 900 mg
Form
Capsule
List price (catalog, USD)
$60.00
Price per serving
$2.00List price divided by servings per container. A per-day cost only if the label serving is once daily.

Reading notes

  • CFU count and strain list are not stored in the catalog; see the product notes and label.
Full label record: servings, testing, ingredients
Servings per container
30
Serving size (label)
0.9 g
Catalog monthly estimate
$60.00
Testing disclosure
Brand lists third-party testing; no public lab certificate listedStatus as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Ingredients as listed

IngredientAmount per serving
Probiotics900 mg

What to check on the label

  • The CFU count and whether it is guaranteed at expiry or only at manufacture.
  • Strain names with identifiers (for example a code after the species name).
  • Storage instructions: refrigerated or shelf-stable.

Amounts are per label serving as recorded in the catalog and are not a recommendation. Testing status reflects what the brand lists. Nothing here is medical advice.

Editorial score and research-dose calculations

These calculations describe our scoring method. They are not a recommended dose or proof of benefit from this product.

6.1/10
Overall score
#1 / 1 in Microbiome

Tested by independent lab.

Read the evidence (8 studies)
Watch outEU restricted1 ingredient restricted in the EU
  • Probiotics — Food supplement (some strains Novel Food)
You can legally buy these outside the EU. Sale as a food supplement inside the EU requires a Novel Food authorisation these ingredients do not have.
Tier 1
Product RCT (peer-reviewed)
Strongest evidence: a peer-reviewed RCT tested this exact product.
How we scored this product Show the full breakdown
Composite How this 6.1 is built. 0.50 × 5.0 + 0.20 × 8.5 + 0.10 × 6.5 + 0.10 × 5.0 + 0.05 × 7.0 + 0.05 × 7.6 = 6.1 out of 10. Safety caps applied after. 6.1
6.1 composite
Dose vs. studies50%5.0
Transparency20%8.5
Value10%6.5
Formulation10%5.0
Safety5%7.0
Community5%7.6

Evidence gates dose: the evidence grade sets the ceiling, and the dose decides how much of that ceiling the product reaches. Value = inverse of price-per-trial-dose-day. Community = mean sentiment of external reviews. Safety caps applied after weighting.

This score is our editorial judgment, not a scientific standard. We combine published evidence, dose, price, transparency, and consumer signals into one composite: this is our method, not a peer-reviewed clinical rating. A higher score means a product does better on the factors we weight, not that it is medically proven to work.

Read the full method →

Editorial verdict

Quick verdict

6.1 / 10
Best for
Basic coverage
Avoid if
No public lab certificate
Full-dose status
Not measurable
Price/month
$60
COA status
Not public
Biggest caveat
Dose-evidence score of 5.0 is below average for the site.
Nearest alternatives
Catalog snapshot. Check linked sources for current price, label and batch-specific testing.
Price verification
Current price: $60.00
Last price check: Sep 01, 2026
Layer 2 · Context

Our summary

Seed DS-01 Daily Synbiotic stands out in a category where the overwhelming majority of finished products carry no clinical evidence at all: it has at least two peer-reviewed, placebo-controlled RCTs run on the exact 53.6-billion-AFU, 24-strain, 400 mg-pomegranate-prebiotic formula sold today, including a 350-person, 6-week trial published in Nutrients (2026) showing significant reductions in bloating and improvements in bowel regularity versus placebo. That places its strongest claims at Tier 1-2, well above the Tier 3-5 ceiling most competing probiotics can reach even with strong individual-strain literature. The caveats are real, though: several of DS-01's dermatological and cardiovascular claims rest on strain-family or species-level evidence rather than DS-01-specific outcome data, per-strain AFU dosing within the blend is not disclosed, no public batch-level COA exists, and in the EU the word 'probiotic' itself cannot legally carry a health claim under EFSA's long-standing, category-wide rejection, a regulatory reality that applies to DS-01 exactly as it does to every competitor. Buyers should also weight the sharp contrast between the underlying science and Seed's poor Trustpilot/BBB scores, which center almost entirely on subscription billing and customer-service friction rather than on whether the product itself works.
In plain language

Why this scored this way

This Seed Health DS-01® Daily Synbiotic scores 6.1, making it below the site average. It contains 900mg of Probiotics with grade B evidence (promising human data, not yet comprehensive).

What drives the score up

  • Tested by independent lab (transparency 8.5).

What drags it down

  • Dose-evidence score of 5.0 is below average for the site.
  • No public lab certificate available for independent verification.

Why you'd choose it

  • You want Probiotics from a Seed Health product.
  • You want a tested by independent lab product.

Why you might skip it

  • You want a product with a publicly available CoA.
  • You want a higher-scoring product (this scores 6.1).
Question 1

Does the molecule work?

The science behind each active ingredient, independent of which brand sells it.

Probiotics

Strain-specific benefits; forget 'total CFU' marketing.

No landmark RCTs listed · US: Dietary supplement · EU: Food supplement (some strains Novel Food)
Question 2

Is this bottle good?

The specific product: dose, price, transparency, and what buyers report.

Dose vs research
Not measurable
Trial dose not established for this ingredient
Cost at trial dose
Not calculable
What one effective daily dose actually costs
Transparency
8.5/10 · No public lab certificate
Independent batch testing confirmed
Consumer signals
No consumer signals collected yet
Operational signal only, never used as clinical evidence
Question 3

What's the catch?

Safety flags, transparency gaps, dosing concerns, and recurring buyer complaints.

No public lab certificate
Certificate of Analysis not published
Without a public lab certificate, batch purity and potency cannot be independently verified.
Plain English

What’s inside

The main ingredients of this product, in plain language.

Probiotics900 mgEvidence B

Strain-specific benefits; forget 'total CFU' marketing.

Read about Probiotics →
Layer 3 · Evidence vault

Product data & verification

Hard numbers and independently checked status. Expand each block for its source.

The numbers

Price
$60
per bottle · 30 servings
Dose vs. research
n/a
n/a
of published effective dose
$ / day at studied dose
n/a
what one effective daily dose costs
$ / g active
$2.22
per gram of active substance
Independently checked

Data verification

COA status
Not public
Evidence grade
B
Per-ingredient breakdown
BProbiotics

All product data is checked against original sources. Prices, doses, and testing status are updated when product pages change. Evidence grades are reviewed when new human RCTs are published. Read how we verify.

What's inside

Ingredient
Dose in this product
Trial dose
Evidence
Probiotics
Strain-specific benefits; forget 'total CFU' marketing.
900 mg
n/a mg
3.8 /5
High confidence
10,231 reviews across 3 platforms (4 sources)
Source diversity: 77%
RedditSeed (brand site)Trustpilot
PraiseCommunity highlights scientific advisory quality.
Last checked: 2026-08-20

Consumer signals

Consumer signals gathered from 4 platforms.

Medium confidence

Consumer sentiment compiled from 2 public sources (Reddit, Trustpilot).

231 reviews · 3.8/5 · mixed sentiment

Themes

3.8/5. Positive for formulation; users cite price and subscription-cancel friction.

Compiled from a Trustpilot listing located during manual research; not independently re-verified against the live page at build time.

1 thread discussed · positive sentiment

PraiseCommunity highlights scientific advisory quality.

Compiled from a Reddit r/microbiome listing located during manual research; not independently re-verified against the live page at build time.

10,000 reviews · 4.6/5

Same brand profile on Trustpilot country sites: NZ 1.5.

These are consumer sentiment signals. They do not measure whether the product actually works. See our evidence section for that.

Independent external anchors

Public sources on this same product, unrelated to NO1GEVITY. NIH DSLD is the US government's registered label database (shown verbatim). SuppCo.com is a separate, unaffiliated commercial site with no partnership or data-sharing arrangement with us. NO1GEVITY scores are computed independently of both.

Unaffiliated third-party site
SuppCo.com

SuppCo is a separate, unaffiliated supplement-tracking site with no partnership, data-sharing agreement, or business relationship with NO1GEVITY. We are not endorsed by them and they do not endorse us. The two facts below are individually verified against the manufacturer or NSF; the outbound link is provided only so readers can independently cross-check on a third-party site if they want to.

Tested by independent lab, Yes

What others say, with a source hierarchy

We treat external opinion very differently depending on where it comes from. Tier A is our strongest signal. Tier C is background sentiment only. Tier Rejected is what we excluded, listed openly so you can see what we discarded.

These reviews are aggregated from third-party sources, not written by NO1GEVITY. Each entry shows its source, retrieval date, and whether the source has an affiliate or paid relationship. We do not edit reviews to change their meaning. Disclosure policy.

Tier A

Independent deep reviews, lab tests, certificates of analysis

Our strongest external evidence. Long-form independent reviews, physical-product lab work, and third-party certifications.

Innerbody Research
Has affiliate relationship Not a paid placement

Innerbody's teardown concludes DS-01 contains clinically relevant strain counts and doses, with strong independent literature support for some strains (e.g., B. longum BB536, B. breve BR3) but weaker support for others; it flags the subscription cost as high relative to comparable products and notes real-world tester experience of reduced bloating.

Finding: Editor's efficacy rating of 7.0/10; notes DS-01 at $49.99/30-day supply ($1.67/day)
How we use it: Used as a Tier A source; Innerbody discloses its affiliate model but tests/evaluates the actual product and label claims directly rather than repackaging marketing, meeting our two-question test.
Healthline Nutrition (medically reviewed by Imashi Fernando, MS, RDN, CDCES; written by Ellen Landes, MS, RDN, CPT)
Has affiliate relationship Not a paid placement

A dietitian-reviewed comparison piece that treats DS-01 as a credible, well-formulated synbiotic among several reviewed products, without uncritical marketing repetition.

Finding: Confirms $49.99/30-day price and AFU count (reported as 56.3 billion AFU in Healthline's table vs. Seed's own 53.6 billion figure, a discrepancy worth noting for buyers)
How we use it: Used as Tier A; Healthline's nutrition team discloses methodology and uses named, credentialed reviewers (RDN/CDCES), consistent with the brief's acceptance criteria for outlets with disclosed methodology.
Good Housekeeping (Good Housekeeping Institute)
Has affiliate relationship Not a paid placement

First-person, three-month use trial by a GH Institute staffer alongside standard product-testing disclosure practices; describes a genuinely tested experience rather than a repackaged press release.

Finding: Confirms $49.99/30-day subscription price, ~10-15% refill-program discount, and $59.99 non-subscription retail (Target) pricing
How we use it: Used as Tier A for pricing/logistics corroboration; GHI is an established consumer-testing institution with disclosed affiliate relationships.
Better Business Bureau (BBB), Seed Health, Inc.
No affiliate relationship Not a paid placement

Complaint themes mirror Trustpilot: absence of live customer-service contact, subscription billing frustration, and some product-experience complaints (e.g., a Gastroparesis patient's account). No indication of regulatory action or fraud findings, this reflects service-quality friction, not a safety or efficacy verdict.

Finding: BBB business rating: B; customer review average 1.22/5 (32 reviews)
How we use it: Used as a consumer-protection-agency-adjacent Tier A source per the brief's hierarchy; corroborates the Trustpilot pattern independently rather than duplicating it.
Tier B

Registered dietitians and physicians, without affiliate ties

Credentialed commentary from clinicians who disclose no paid relationship. Useful as supporting critique but not a substitute for a clinical outcome trial.

Trustpilot (seed.com)
No affiliate relationship Not a paid placement

The large majority of negative reviews center on unauthorized recurring charges, difficulty cancelling subscriptions, absence of a direct customer-service phone line, and delivery/damaged-product issues, not on whether the probiotic itself works. A minority of reviews question product effectiveness.

Finding: 1.6/5 overall (116 reviews total, ~108 rated), markedly poor rating dominated by subscription/billing and customer-service complaints rather than product-efficacy complaints
How we use it: Used with disclosure per Tier B rules: N=116 is below the N>500 threshold the brief prefers, so we weight this cautiously. The rating is far more a signal about Seed's subscription/customer-service operations than about DS-01's biological efficacy, and we present it as such rather than folding it into an efficacy verdict. Contrasts sharply with the 4.6/10,000+ rating Seed publishes on its own product page (https://seed.com/reviews), which is not independently verified and is excluded as a self-reported vendor metric.
r/Microbiome (Reddit), 'What's your review of SEED DS-01 Daily Synbiotic'
No affiliate relationship Not a paid placement

Thread shows a split: several users call Seed 'one of the most reputable brands' and 'the most complete and researched pre/probiotic blend,' while at least one self-identified Seed employee states 'I work there. I don't take it,' and one long-term user reports feeling better after stopping.

Finding: No quantitative rating; mixed qualitative thread with several affiliate-link promotional comments flagged by other users
How we use it: Used per brief guidance for subreddit meta-threads with disclosed context; treated as anecdotal sentiment rather than evidence, and we flag the mixed/self-contradictory nature of the thread (including undisclosed affiliate promotion within it) rather than citing it as a clean endorsement.
r/Microbiome (Reddit), 'Did anyone else get wrecked by Seed probiotics?'
No affiliate relationship Not a paid placement

A user reports severe GI distress (burping, bloating, GERD, nausea, 20 lb weight loss) that resolved after stopping DS-01 ahead of a GI diagnostic workup; commenters note the strain diversity makes it hard to pinpoint a causal mechanism and caution that 'more strains' is not inherently better for every gut.

Finding: 145 upvotes on the original post; multiple corroborating comments
How we use it: Used as a Tier B anecdotal signal consistent with Seed's own labeled 'acclimation period' warning (mild GI discomfort expected in the first weeks) but illustrating that for a minority of users this can be severe and persistent rather than transient. We do not treat a single Reddit anecdote as establishing an adverse-event rate, but it is a legitimate data point on tolerability variance that the vendor's own materials also acknowledge in milder form.

Community threads and aggregate ratings

Additional public mentions we located, kept separate from the deep independent reviews above.

Trustpilot · 3.8
mixed

3.8/5. Positive for formulation; users cite price and subscription-cancel friction.

Read source → Unverified · we received no payment for this listing
Reddit r/microbiome
positive

Community highlights scientific advisory quality.

Read source → Unverified · we received no payment for this listing
Layer 3 · Evidence vault

Evidence, claims & regulation

Published evidence, claim checks, regulatory status and what could not be verified.

Evidence, what actually backs this product

Longevity brands rarely test their exact finished product. We separate what's tested from what's inferred.

Strongest evidence tier
Tier 1Product RCT (peer-reviewed)
8 studies mapped
Tier 0No source
Why the European Food Safety Authority was right to reject health claims for probiotics
Katan MB · 2012 · European Journal of Clinical Nutrition (commentary) · N/A · N/A
ingredient-levelpeer-reviewed
Explains and defends EFSA's category-wide rejection of health claims for probiotics under EU Regulation 1924/2006, citing insufficient intervention-trial evidence across the category.
Included for regulatory context, not efficacy evidence for DS-01 specifically. Relevant because it explains why DS-01 (and every other probiotic) cannot carry authorized health claims in the EU regardless of underlying trial quality.
Conflicts: None identified.
Tier 1Product RCT (peer-reviewed)
A Randomized, Placebo-Controlled Trial Evaluating Multi-Species Synbiotic Supplementation for Bloating, Gas, and Abdominal Discomfort
Allegretti JR, Kassam Z, Kelly CR, Grinspan A, El-Nachef N, Van Den Elzen C, Jäger R, Feuerstadt P · 2026 · Nutrients · n=350 · 53.6 billion AFU multi-species probiotic + 400 mg Indian pomegranate extract (2 capsules/day) = full label dose of DS-01 · 6 weeks
on this exact productpeer-reviewed
DS-01 significantly improved GI quality of life, reduced bloating/gas (72.3% vs 55.9% reporting never/rarely bloating, p<0.001), reduced abdominal discomfort (p<0.01), and improved constipation/regularity symptoms versus placebo, with no significant difference in adverse events.
This is a Tier-1-caliber trial: peer-reviewed, on the exact finished DS-01 SKU at label dose, largest RCT of its kind in this category. Trial was run by Radicle Science Inc. (a decentralized-trial vendor) in collaboration with academic gastroenterologists; funded/sponsored by Seed Health, whose CMO is a co-author. Self-reported symptom population (not clinically diagnosed IBS), so generalizability to diagnosed GI disease is limited, and self-report outcome measures (even if validated instruments) carry some risk of placebo response inflation typical of GI symptom trials.
Conflicts: Sponsored by Seed Health, Inc.; Zain Kassam and Courtney Van Den Elzen are Seed Health employees and co-authors; Radicle Science (contract research organization) conducted the trial.
Tier 2Product RCT (not peer-reviewed)
Multi-Species Synbiotic Supplementation Enhances Gut Microbial Diversity, Increases Urolithin A and Butyrate Production, and Reduces Inflammation in Healthy Adults: A Randomized, Placebo-Controlled Trial
Not fully disclosed in available abstract; Seed Health-affiliated authorship consistent with company press materials · 2025 · Nutrients · n=32 · 53.6 billion AFU multi-species probiotic + 400 mg Indian pomegranate extract (DS-01, full label dose) · 91 days
on this exact productpeer-reviewed
DS-01 significantly increased alpha-diversity of Bifidobacterium/Lactobacillus at all timepoints (p<0.0001 by Day 91), increased urinary Urolithin A (12-fold at Day 7, 49-fold at Day 91, p<0.001), converted 100% of participants into Urolithin A producers vs. 44.4% on placebo (p<0.01), and increased fecal butyrate in low-baseline-butyrate producers while lowering systemic CRP.
On the exact finished product at label dose; peer-reviewed. Small sample (N=32) limits statistical power for some secondary outcomes (e.g., CRP reduction subgroup) and this appears to be the same broad DS-01 metabolite/microbiome research program referenced in Seed's PR materials on Urolithin A and butyrate. Mechanistic/biomarker endpoints (Urolithin A, butyrate, CRP) are surrogate markers, not direct clinical outcome measures like symptom relief.
Conflicts: Sponsored by Seed Health, Inc.
Tier 2Product RCT (not peer-reviewed)
Impact of a multi-species synbiotic (DS-01) on microbiome resilience and gastrointestinal barrier function after antibiotics: A randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled clinical trial
Seed Health-affiliated research team; presented at Digestive Disease Week (DDW) 2024 · 2024 · Conference abstract (DDW 2024); not yet identified as a separate full peer-reviewed journal article at time of review · DS-01, 2 capsules daily (registered protocol; full label dose) · Up to 91 days post-antibiotic
on this exact productnot peer-reviewed
DS-01 enhanced short-term (25% at Day 7) and long-term (49% by Day 91) gut barrier integrity following antibiotics, restored baseline microbial diversity, and enriched beneficial bacteria versus placebo.
Registered on ClinicalTrials.gov (Principal Investigator: Anthony J. Lembo, MD, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center) but as of this review we could only verify the conference abstract/press release, not a peer-reviewed journal publication with full methods and statistics. Downgraded relative to the published Nutrients trials because full peer review could not be confirmed.
Conflicts: Sponsored by Seed Health, Inc.
Tier 2Product RCT (not peer-reviewed)
A multi-species synbiotic (DS-01) alleviates irritable bowel syndrome symptoms while boosting synbiotic consortium: A randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled clinical trial
Seed Health-affiliated research team with Harvard-affiliated clinical sites; presented at Digestive Disease Week (DDW) 2024 · 2024 · Conference abstract (DDW 2024) · n=100 · DS-01, 2 capsules daily (full label dose) · Not fully disclosed in available materials
on this exact productnot peer-reviewed
DS-01 led to a significant and clinically meaningful improvement in abdominal pain among IBS participants, enrichment of synbiotic and endogenous beneficial bacteria, and a significant increase in serotonin in IBS-M participants.
This is the trial referenced by third-party reviewers (e.g., healthrx.com) as 'the one published DS-01 RCT' in IBS-C at N=40 in 2023 -- our research found the registered protocol targets N=100 and was conducted under FDA IND at Harvard's Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, with results presented at DDW 2024, but we could not confirm a subsequent full peer-reviewed journal publication with complete statistics as of this review. Treat DDW conference-abstract-stage results as provisional until peer-reviewed.
Conflicts: Sponsored by Seed Health, Inc.
Tier 4Ingredient RCT (different dose)
Bifidobacterium longum BB536 in defecation frequency and constipation in elderly adults receiving enteral feeding
Kondo et al. · 2023 · Cited via review: Efficacy of Bifidobacterium longum alone or in multi-strain formulations · n=206 · 5 x 10^10 CFU/day (or 2.5 x 10^10 CFU in Trial 2 arm) of B. longum BB536 · 16 weeks
ingredient-levelpeer-reviewed
B. longum BB536 significantly normalized defecation frequency in both low- and high-frequency defecation subjects.
This is independent third-party evidence for the species/strain 'Bifidobacterium longum BB536' used generically in the literature; DS-01 contains B. longum SD-BB536-JP, which Seed's own Reference Library associates with this strain family, but the per-strain AFU dose delivered within DS-01's 37-billion-AFU 16-strain blend is not disclosed, so exact dose-matching to this 5x10^10 CFU monotherapy dose cannot be confirmed.
Conflicts: Not disclosed in available secondary source; original study conducted independently of Seed Health.
Tier 5Mechanistic / animal / marketing
Probiotics, Immune Function, and the Brain in Alcohol Use Disorder (ancillary DS-01 sub-study)
Monnig M (Principal Investigator), Brown University; NIH-funded · 2022 · ClinicalTrials.gov registration (results not yet published as of this review) · Seed DS-01 Daily Synbiotic · 30 days
on this exact productnot peer-reviewed
Single-group, open-label study measuring inflammatory/immune biomarkers (LBP, sCD14, sCD163, IL-6, MCP-1, TNF-alpha) before/after 30 days of DS-01; independently NIH-funded (P01AA019072) and not industry-designed, but open-label with no placebo arm and results not yet published.
Independently initiated academic study (Brown University) rather than a Seed-sponsored trial, which is a positive credibility signal, but the single-arm open-label design without a placebo control means it cannot establish causal efficacy on its own.
Conflicts: NIH grant-funded; no disclosed Seed Health sponsorship identified in the registration.
Tier 5Mechanistic / animal / marketing
Cholesterol-lowering efficacy of Lactobacillus plantarum CECT 7527, 7528 and 7529 in hypercholesterolaemic adults
Fuentes MC, Lajo T, Carrión JM, Cuñé J · 2013 · British Journal of Nutrition · n=60 · 1.2 x 10^9 CFU/day of a 3-strain L. plantarum mixture · 12 weeks
ingredient-levelpeer-reviewed
Significant 13.6% reduction in total cholesterol versus placebo; larger reductions (15-17%) in participants with higher baseline cholesterol.
This is species-level (L. plantarum), not the exact proprietary SD-LPLDL-UK strain in DS-01's Cardiovascular Health blend, and uses a different specific strain combination (CECT 7527/7528/7529) at a different dose than DS-01's 5.25-billion-AFU 2-strain blend. Included as ingredient-class supporting evidence, not exact-strain confirmation; DS-01's marketing materials reference 'LPLDL' informally as cholesterol-supportive but the exact strain code is not independently indexed under a matching PubMed record.
Conflicts: Not disclosed in abstract; unrelated to Seed Health.
Evidence

Research behind this product

No landmark studies linked yet. See the ingredient pages for the full evidence breakdown.

Claim check, vendor claims vs. our reading of the evidence

Not medical advice. We list the strongest claims made by the brand and check each against traceable evidence.

Supported
“'53.6 Billion AFU' across 24 clinically-studied probiotic strains plus a polyphenol-based prebiotic”
The AFU count, strain count, and prebiotic dose are consistently documented on Seed's own Reference Library label breakdown (https://seed.com/reference/syn-wk) and independently corroborated in the peer-reviewed Nutrients trial methods section, which describes the identical formulation (53.6 billion AFU multi-species probiotic and 400 mg pomegranate extract). AFU (Active Fluorescent Units, measured by flow cytometry) is a real but non-standard alternative to the more common CFU metric; it is not directly comparable to CFU counts on competitor labels, which can make cross-brand potency comparisons difficult for consumers.
Supported
“DS-01 is 'clinically-studied' / has clinical trials on the exact formula”
Verified independently: DS-01 at full label dose (53.6 billion AFU + 400 mg pomegranate extract) has been tested in at least two published, peer-reviewed RCTs in Nutrients (N=350, 6 weeks, PMC12845427; and N=32, 91 days, PubMed 40944126), plus two additional DBRCTs presented at Digestive Disease Week 2024 that have not yet been confirmed as separately peer-reviewed. This places DS-01 well ahead of the vast majority of probiotic finished products, which typically carry zero trials on the actual sold SKU.
Unverifiable
“ViaCap® 2-in-1 delivery technology delivers ~100% of the probiotic dose intact to the colon, surviving stomach acid, bile, and digestive enzymes”
This claim rests on Seed's own in-house SHIME (Simulator of the Human Intestinal Microbial Ecosystem) laboratory model, an accepted in vitro digestion-simulation method in the field, but we could not locate an independently published, peer-reviewed paper validating this specific ~100% survival figure for DS-01's exact capsule system. In vitro simulator results also do not guarantee identical in vivo colonization or survival in every individual gut environment. We treat this as a plausible, mechanistically reasonable claim that remains company-generated and independently unverified.
Partial support
“Systemic/whole-body benefits including digestive health, gut barrier integrity, immune support, skin health, and heart health”
Digestive-health and gut-microbiome-composition benefits are supported by the DS-01-specific RCTs (bloating, regularity, GI quality of life; Bifidobacterium/Lactobacillus alpha-diversity increases). Gut barrier integrity is supported by DS-01's antibiotic-recovery trial data (49% improvement claim), though that trial's full peer-reviewed publication was not confirmed. Skin health and cardiovascular claims rely on strain-family literature for individual ingredients in the Dermatological and Cardiovascular blends (e.g., published work on B. lactis CECT8145-adjacent strains and L. plantarum cholesterol studies) rather than DS-01-specific clinical endpoints for those outcomes, no DS-01 trial reported skin or lipid-panel outcomes as of this review. This is a case where some claims sit at Tier 1-2 (digestive) and others sit at Tier 4-5 (skin, heart) within the same product.
Partial support
“Strains are 'clinically and scientifically studied' at academic institutions in Italy, Spain, Belgium, US, and Japan”
Seed's Reference Library cites a real table of strain-family benefit studies (e.g., Del Piano 2010, Costabile 2017, Navarro-López JAMA Dermatol 2018), and several of DS-01's proprietary strain codes clearly derive from established academic/industry strain-culture collections (Italian, Spanish [CECT], Belgian, Japanese [BB536] origins are traceable). However, many of the cited studies are on the parent strain family or species-level, in vitro, or in different populations (e.g., pediatric atopic dermatitis, Parkinson's disease cell models) rather than head-to-head clinical trials of Seed's exact proprietary strain isolate at the exact AFU dose delivered within the DS-01 blend, which Seed's own footnotes acknowledge (marking several claims '*Claim substantiated through in vitro research').

Regulatory status

Rules change often. We record when we last verified each row. See the full regulatory timeline →

What we could not verify

We list this openly. If a claim isn't backed by a source we can trace, we'd rather flag it than repeat it.

  • No public, batch-level Certificate of Analysis (COA) is available for consumers to review; Seed states it tests every batch but does not publish underlying lab reports.
  • The specific third-party testing laboratory/labs used for AFU potency, heavy metals, and pesticide screening are not named on the public product or reference pages.
  • Exact per-strain AFU dosing within each of the four sub-blends (Digestive Health, Dermatological, Cardiovascular, Micronutrient Synthesis) is not disclosed, only blend totals are listed, so it cannot be confirmed whether any single strain is dosed at the same level used in its underlying published research.
  • The two DS-01 DBRCTs presented at Digestive Disease Week 2024 (antibiotic recovery and IBS) were not confirmed as fully peer-reviewed journal publications as of this review; they remain at conference-abstract stage in the evidence we could locate.
  • The precise manufacturing facility location and its specific accreditations (e.g., whether it is truly EU-pharmaceutical-GMP and ISO-certified, as claimed by at least one third-party reviewer) could not be confirmed via a primary Seed Health source.
  • Seed does not hold NSF Certified for Sport or USP Verified independent certification, which several independent reviewers flag as a transparency gap relative to some certified competitors.
Important to know
ProbioticsRefrigerated ≠ better if the strain is shelf-stable. Look for CFU at expiry, not at manufacture.

Editorial notes

24 strains, 53.6B AFU, prebiotic-in-capsule design.

Brand owners

Spot an error?

If you are the manufacturer or brand owner of DS-01® Daily Synbiotic and believe any data on this page is incorrect (wrong dose, wrong ingredient, wrong price, missing certification, outdated status), you can request a correction.

We review every request, verify it against primary sources, and publish any accepted change with a dated note. Corrections from brand owners are treated the same as corrections from anyone else: verified before they move.

Request a correction →
Same maker

Other products from Seed Health

Brand profile →
Multi/greens
Ingredients listed
6 ingredients listedlargest listed: Vitamin C 90 mg
Price per serving
$1.33$39.99 · 30 servings
Testing
3rd-party listed · no public lab certificate

Multi-ingredient bundle

Status as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Score & research context 5.9/10

Editorial score, not proof that this product works. Research-dose calculations are not dosing advice.

100%
of trial dose
$1.33
per research-dose day, not label serving
0Trial dose2×
Catalog price · Confirm current price with seed.com
Autophagy
Ingredients listed
6 ingredients listedlargest listed: Probiotics 200 mg
Price per serving
$1.17$34.99 · 30 servings
Testing
3rd-party listed · no public lab certificate

CFU not stored

Status as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Score & research context 4.5/10

Editorial score, not proof that this product works. Research-dose calculations are not dosing advice.

1%
of trial dose
$358.87
per research-dose day, not label serving
0Trial dose2×
Catalog price · Confirm current price with seed.com
Cognition
Ingredients listed
6 ingredients listedlargest listed: Probiotics 100 mg
Price per serving
$1.17$34.99 · 30 servings
Testing
3rd-party listed · no public lab certificate

CFU not stored

Status as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Score & research context 3.5/10

Editorial score, not proof that this product works. Research-dose calculations are not dosing advice.

1%
of trial dose
$358.87
per research-dose day, not label serving
0Trial dose2×
Catalog price · Confirm current price with seed.com