Basics: short version, verdict first People Molecules Peptides Biomarkers Studies Stem Cells Editorial Methodology
Layer 1 · Decision
← All products

Taurine Powder

Amino acid · Powder · 100 servings

Label snapshot

What the label says

What the product contains and what one serving costs, according to our catalog. Label amounts are not personal dose recommendations.

Active per serving
Taurine 3,000 mg
Form
Powder
List price (catalog, USD)
$25.00
Price per serving
$0.25List price divided by servings per container. A per-day cost only if the label serving is once daily.
Full label record: servings, testing, ingredients
Servings per container
100
Serving size (label)
3 g
Catalog monthly estimate
$7.50
Testing disclosure
Brand lists third-party testing and a public certificate of analysis (CoA)Status as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Ingredients as listed

IngredientAmount per serving
Taurine3,000 mg

What to check on the label

  • The compound form (creatine monohydrate, NAC, glycine) and the grams per scoop or per capsule.
  • Scoop size versus the catalog serving. Some labels define a serving as two scoops.
  • Flavoured versions add sweeteners and fillers under 'other ingredients'.

Amounts are per label serving as recorded in the catalog and are not a recommendation. Testing status reflects what the brand lists. Nothing here is medical advice.

Editorial score and research-dose calculations

These calculations describe our scoring method. They are not a recommended dose or proof of benefit from this product.

6.0/10
Overall score
#9 / 13 in Amino acid

Public lab certificate, tested by independent lab, top 17% value.

Read the evidence (2 studies)
Tier 3
Ingredient RCT (matching dose)
The ingredient was tested in an RCT at the same dose this product sells.
See the 2 supporting studies
  • Yadav et al. 2023 (Science) (Taurine)Taurine supplementation extended lifespan in mice and improved aging biomarkers in monkeys and humans.
  • Beine et al. 2026 (Food & Function) (Taurine)Comprehensive review of taurine roles in antioxidant defense, anti-inflammatory signaling, calcium regulation, and mitochondrial function. Confirms promising human supplementation outcomes. Notes 2025 NIH finding that taurine does not longitudinally decline with age in humans.
How we scored this product Show the full breakdown
Composite How this 6.0 is built. 0.50 × 4.0 + 0.20 × 9.0 + 0.10 × 9.8 + 0.10 × 5.0 + 0.05 × 8.5 + 0.05 × 6.6 = 6.0 out of 10. Safety caps applied after. 6.0
6.0 composite
Dose vs. studies50%4.0
Transparency20%9.0
Value10%9.8
Formulation10%5.0
Safety5%8.5
Community5%6.6

Evidence gates dose: the evidence grade sets the ceiling, and the dose decides how much of that ceiling the product reaches. Value = inverse of price-per-trial-dose-day. Community = mean sentiment of external reviews. Safety caps applied after weighting.

This score is our editorial judgment, not a scientific standard. We combine published evidence, dose, price, transparency, and consumer signals into one composite: this is our method, not a peer-reviewed clinical rating. A higher score means a product does better on the factors we weight, not that it is medically proven to work.

Read the full method →

Editorial verdict

Quick verdict

6.0 / 10
Best for
Full trial dose, Public lab certificate, Budget-friendly
Avoid if
No major red flags
Full-dose status
Meets trial dose
Price/month
$8
COA status
Public
Biggest caveat
Dose-evidence score of 4.0 is below average for the site.
Nearest alternatives
Catalog snapshot. Check linked sources for current price, label and batch-specific testing.
Price verification
Current price: $25.00
Last price check: Sep 01, 2026
Layer 2 · Context

Our summary

BulkSupplements.com Taurine Powder is a low-cost, high-volume raw amino acid powder aimed at buyers who want taurine at the lowest possible per-gram price rather than a branded, flavored, or pre-dosed formula, its value proposition (as little as $0.011-$0.028 per gram depending on size, up to 25 kg bulk bags) is real and well-documented, and independent ConsumerLab testing found no quality issues with this specific product. The evidence tier for taurine as an ingredient lands at Tier 3: solid human RCT and meta-analysis support exists for cardiometabolic risk reduction and exercise performance at 1.5-6 g/day, doses easily reached with this product's labeled 2 g serving. The most important thing for a buyer to understand is the gap between taurine's two very different scientific stories: the well-supported, human-RCT-backed metabolic and performance benefits at gram-level daily doses, versus the widely publicized 'longevity' narrative from Singh et al.'s 2023 Science mouse study (https://www.science.org/doi/10.1126/science.abn9257), which showed a 10-12% lifespan extension in mice but has no human lifespan or healthy-aging trial confirming it, and which two independent 2025 human studies have since directly challenged (https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/40472098/, https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC12507425/). Buyers taking this product hoping to extend their own lifespan are acting on mouse data, not human evidence; the one human trial designed to actually test that question (TauAge, NCT06613542) is still running.
In plain language

Why this scored this way

This BulkSupplements Taurine Powder scores 6.0, making it below the site average. It delivers 3000mg of Taurine, inside the studied range of 1000–6000mg with grade D evidence (very early-stage, mostly animal models). Transparency is a clear strength (score: 9.0), with third-party testing and a public lab certificate. At $0.25/day it's priced well for what you get.

What drives the score up

  • Quality transparency of 9.0: tested by independent lab with a public lab certificate.
  • Value score of 9.8 at $0.25/day.

What drags it down

  • Dose-evidence score of 4.0 is below average for the site.

Why you'd choose it

  • You want good value at $0.25/day.
  • You prioritise tested by independent lab products with public lab certificates.

Why you might skip it

  • You want a higher-scoring product (this scores 6.0).
Question 1

Does the molecule work?

The science behind each active ingredient, independent of which brand sells it.

Taurine

The 2023 sensation; species-wide lifespan extension in mice, humans unproven.

2 landmark RCTs · US: Dietary supplement · EU: Food supplement
Question 2

Is this bottle good?

The specific product: dose, price, transparency, and what buyers report.

Dose vs research
100% of trial dose
Meets or exceeds the published effective dose
Cost at trial dose
$0.25/day at trial dose
What one effective daily dose actually costs
Transparency
9.0/10 · Public lab certificate (quality: not assessed)
Independent batch testing confirmed
Consumer signals
No consumer signals collected yet
Operational signal only, never used as clinical evidence
Question 3

What's the catch?

Safety flags, transparency gaps, dosing concerns, and recurring buyer complaints.

No major red flags
Public lab certificate, tested by independent lab, dose within range
No safety, transparency, or dose concerns detected at this time.
Plain English

What’s inside

The main ingredients of this product, in plain language.

Taurine3000 mgEvidence D

The 2023 sensation; species-wide lifespan extension in mice, humans unproven.

Read about Taurine →
Layer 3 · Evidence vault

Product data & verification

Hard numbers and independently checked status. Expand each block for its source.

The numbers

Price
$25
per bottle · 100 servings
Dose vs. research
of trial dose 100%
of published effective dose
$ / day at studied dose
$0.25
what one effective daily dose costs
$ / g active
$0.08
per gram of active substance
Independently checked

Data verification

COA status
Public
Evidence grade
D
Per-ingredient breakdown
DTaurine

All product data is checked against original sources. Prices, doses, and testing status are updated when product pages change. Evidence grades are reviewed when new human RCTs are published. Read how we verify.

What's inside

Ingredient
Dose in this product
Trial dose
Evidence
Taurine
The 2023 sensation; species-wide lifespan extension in mice, humans unproven.
3000 mg 100% of trial dose
3000 mg
3.3 /5
Medium confidence
716 reviews across 2 platforms (2 sources)
Source diversity: 46%
Examine.comTrustpilot
PraiseTaurine safe up to 3 to 6 g/day. 2023 Science paper on aging cited widely.
Last checked: 2026-08-07

Consumer signals

Consumer signals gathered from 2 platforms.

Low confidence, small sample

Consumer sentiment compiled from 1 public source (Examine.com). Small sample size, treat as directional only.

positive sentiment

Praise

Taurine safe up to 3 to 6 g/day. 2023 Science paper on aging cited widely.

Compiled from an Examine.com listing located during manual research; not independently re-verified against the live page at build time.

716 reviews · 3.3/5

These are consumer sentiment signals. They do not measure whether the product actually works. See our evidence section for that.

What others say, with a source hierarchy

We treat external opinion very differently depending on where it comes from. Tier A is our strongest signal. Tier C is background sentiment only. Tier Rejected is what we excluded, listed openly so you can see what we discarded.

These reviews are aggregated from third-party sources, not written by NO1GEVITY. Each entry shows its source, retrieval date, and whether the source has an affiliate or paid relationship. We do not edit reviews to change their meaning. Disclosure policy.

Tier A

Independent deep reviews, lab tests, certificates of analysis

Our strongest external evidence. Long-form independent reviews, physical-product lab work, and third-party certifications.

ConsumerLab.com, Taurine Supplements Review
No affiliate relationship Not a paid placement

Passed independent laboratory testing for label-claim accuracy with no quality issues identified; full quantitative results (exact purity %, exact per-product cost ranking) are behind ConsumerLab's paid membership wall.

Finding: BulkSupplements.com Taurine was one of nine taurine products (including Allmax, NOW, Solgar, Thorne, Twinlab) independently tested by ConsumerLab using HPLC potency analysis; ConsumerLab reports finding 'no problems with the quality' of the taurine products it tested, and cost-per-500mg-dose across all approved products ranged from 1 cent to 18 cents.
How we use it: This is our strongest independent, non-affiliate purity data point for this exact product and is treated as Tier A evidence. We disclose that full quantitative detail requires a ConsumerLab subscription we did not access, so we report the qualitative 'passed' finding rather than exact potency percentages.
Better Business Bureau, BulkSupplements.com complaint file
No affiliate relationship Not a paid placement

BulkSupplements is a BBB-accredited business that generally responds to and resolves complaints (many marked 'Resolved' or 'Answered'), though several customers describe the resolution process as slow or requiring BBB escalation to prompt a refund.

Finding: 55 total complaints in the prior 3 years, 15 closed in the last 12 months as of the retrieved snapshot; the large majority of viewable complaints concern shipping (lost/stolen packages, customs holds, return logistics) rather than product safety, purity, or mislabeling. One complaint specifically about testing methodology quotes the company describing tests as run in its 'in-house laboratory.'
How we use it: Used as a consumer-protection-agency source per the brief's Tier A guidance; the most valuable finding for this dossier is the company's own language confirming in-house (not externally accredited) lab testing in at least one formal complaint response, which materially informs our quality_certifications assessment.
Tier B

Registered dietitians and physicians, without affiliate ties

Credentialed commentary from clinicians who disclose no paid relationship. Useful as supporting critique but not a substitute for a clinical outcome trial.

Reddit r/StrongerByScience, 'Bulksupplements review?' community discussion
No affiliate relationship Not a paid placement

Mixed/skeptical: commenters acknowledge most BulkSupplements products are 'likely fine' but argue a meaningful minority fail independent testing, and criticize the brand's batch-to-batch quality consistency.

Finding: Commenters cite an unspecified 'leading independent lab' finding 'multiple failed quality testing results' for BulkSupplements products broadly (not taurine specifically), and estimate roughly a 5% failure rate for independent label-accuracy/potency/purity testing across the brand's catalog, though the underlying source is described as paywalled and not independently re-verified by us.
How we use it: Used as a Tier B qualitative counterpoint to vendor and ConsumerLab data, a sober, non-affiliate community discussion, but the specific failure-rate claim traces to a source we could not directly verify (described by commenters as paywalled), so we present it as unconfirmed community sentiment rather than fact.
Reddit r/StrongerByScience, 'Is BulkSupplements safe?' community discussion
No affiliate relationship Not a paid placement

More favorable than the sibling thread above, general community consensus that BulkSupplements products reliably pass third-party lab verification, at least per ConsumerLab's testing history.

Finding: A commenter reports personally checking a ConsumerLab subscription and finding that 'EVERYTHING they sell has been approved' in ConsumerLab's testing, corroborating the brand's general reputation for passing independent potency/purity checks.
How we use it: Corroborating, non-affiliate community source; used alongside ConsumerLab's own page to support a generally favorable purity conclusion, tempered by the more skeptical thread above.
Trustpilot, BulkSupplements.com (US domain)
No affiliate relationship Not a paid placement

Net-positive but polarized: strong marks for value and product purity perception, recurring complaints cluster around logistics/shipping rather than the products themselves.

Finding: 694 total reviews shown on the US Trustpilot listing as of the most recent snapshot; a synthesized summary of 415 reviews describes customers as 'somewhat happy' overall, frequently praising product quality/purity, pricing, and shipping speed, while a minority cite lost/delayed shipments, inconsistent product texture, and billing issues.
How we use it: Tier B per brief guidance (Trustpilot with meaningful review volume, N>500 in this domain snapshot); used for overall brand sentiment. We flag that regional Trustpilot domains for this brand show inconsistent scores (see unverified section) and a distinct, separately-registered 'bulk-supplement.com' domain has unrelated fraud complaints that must not be confused with the official bulksupplements.com brand.
Trustpilot, BulkSupplements.com (UK domain snapshot)
No affiliate relationship Not a paid placement

Materially worse than the US snapshot, suggests international shipping/customer-service friction is a bigger pain point than domestic US experience.

Finding: UK Trustpilot snapshot shows a 'Poor' 2.0/5 rating across 284 reviews, with the business shown replying to only 8% of negative reviews.
How we use it: Used to show that Trustpilot sentiment is region-dependent; buyers outside the US should weight this lower score, largely tied to international shipping/customs friction (consistent with BBB complaint patterns we also reviewed), rather than product quality per se.

Community threads and aggregate ratings

Additional public mentions we located, kept separate from the deep independent reviews above.

Examine.com
positive

Taurine safe up to 3 to 6 g/day. 2023 Science paper on aging cited widely.

Read source → Unverified · we received no payment for this listing
Layer 3 · Evidence vault

Evidence, claims & regulation

Published evidence, claim checks, regulatory status and what could not be verified.

Evidence, what actually backs this product

Longevity brands rarely test their exact finished product. We separate what's tested from what's inferred.

Strongest evidence tier
Tier 3Ingredient RCT (matching dose)
9 studies mapped
Tier 0No source
Effects Of Daily Taurine Intake For 6 Months On Biological Age and Body Metabolism Indicators As Well As Physical Fitness In 55-75-Year-Old Women And Men (TauAge)
Munich research consortium (LMU Klinikum, with Stanford, Rutgers, Universität Innsbruck collaborators) · 2024 · ClinicalTrials.gov registration (trial ongoing, unpublished) · n=91 · 4 g/day taurine vs. placebo · 6 months
ingredient-levelnot peer-reviewed
Trial is actively enrolling/running as of the 2026 literature search; no results reported yet. Endpoints include proteomic biological-age clocks, DNA-methylation epigenetic age, inflammatory biomarkers, metabolic markers (glucose, insulin, HOMA-IR, HbA1c, lipids), physical fitness, and cognition.
This is the first dedicated human RCT designed specifically to test whether taurine supplementation slows biological aging in people, i.e., exactly the trial the 2023 Science paper's authors said was needed. As of this review, it has NOT reported results. This is the trial to watch, and its absence of data today is the crux of the 'mouse, not human' evidence gap. Excluded from the strongest-tier badge calculation because it is registered and sourced but has no reported outcome yet, not scored as Tier 0 'no source' since a real trial does exist.
Conflicts: German Research Foundation (DFG) academic grant; no supplement industry sponsor identified
Tier 0No source
Effects of taurine supplementation on metabolic health parameters (Bayesian-optimized phase II RCT protocol)
Multiple (protocol registration) · 2026 · PubMed-indexed protocol · 3 g/day oral taurine vs. placebo · 6 months
ingredient-levelnot peer-reviewed
Trial protocol (not yet completed) targeting HbA1c reduction as primary endpoint, with PhenoAge biological-age score and skin autofluorescence as secondary aging-adjacent measures.
Another registered/ongoing human trial, but it targets metabolic health with an aging-biomarker secondary endpoint (PhenoAge) rather than lifespan, still not a lifespan trial. Excluded from the strongest-tier badge calculation for the same reason as the TauAge trial above: registered and sourced, but no outcome data yet.
Conflicts: Not disclosed in listing
Tier 3Ingredient RCT (matching dose)
Effects of Oral Taurine Supplementation on Cardiometabolic Risk Factors: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis
Multiple (meta-analysis) · 2026 · PubMed-indexed systematic review · Dose-response analysis identified 1.5-3.0 g/day as most effective; trials pooled ranged roughly 0.5-6 g/day · Most effective at ≥8 weeks for glucose/lipids; <8 weeks sufficient for blood pressure/inflammation
ingredient-levelpeer-reviewed
Taurine supplementation significantly reduced fasting glucose, HbA1c, fasting insulin, HOMA-IR, triglycerides, total and LDL cholesterol, systolic and diastolic blood pressure, liver enzymes (AST/ALT), and CRP versus placebo.
Strong, consistent human RCT evidence for cardiometabolic benefits at doses that bracket BulkSupplements' 2 g labeled serving (1-3 scoops/day = 2-6 g/day). This is the best human evidence class for this product, but it addresses metabolic risk markers, not longevity/lifespan.
Conflicts: Not disclosed in indexed abstract; no supplement-brand sponsor identified
Tier 3Ingredient RCT (matching dose)
Taurine reduces the risk for metabolic syndrome: a systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials
Tzang et al. · 2024 · Nutrition & Diabetes (Nature Publishing Group) · n=1024 · 0.5-6 g/day, dose-dependent effects on blood pressure and fasting glucose · 5 days to 365 days across included trials
ingredient-levelpeer-reviewed
Significant reductions in diastolic blood pressure, fasting blood glucose, triglycerides, and total/LDL cholesterol; no significant dose-dependent effect on HDL cholesterol; taurine showed no apparent adverse effects across pooled trials.
Large, well-powered meta-analysis directly supporting cardiometabolic benefit claims at doses achievable with 1-3 scoops of this product per day (2-6 g).
Conflicts: None identified
Tier 3Ingredient RCT (matching dose)
The Effects of an Oral Taurine Dose and Supplementation Period on Endurance Exercise Performance in Humans: A Meta-Analysis
Waldron M, Patterson SD, Tallent J, Jeffries O · 2018 · Sports Medicine · n=116 · 1-6 g/day, single acute doses up to 2-week chronic loading · Acute (single dose, 1-3 hours pre-exercise) up to 2 weeks
ingredient-levelpeer-reviewed
Taurine ingestion significantly improved overall endurance performance (Hedges' g = 0.40) and time-to-exhaustion specifically (Hedges' g = 0.43); effect size did not depend on dose (1-6 g equally effective) or acute vs. chronic timing.
Solid human RCT evidence for the 'performance boost' claim BulkSupplements makes on its product page, at doses (1-6 g) that match a realistic 1-3 scoop/day regimen of this product.
Conflicts: None identified
Tier 5Mechanistic / animal / marketing
Taurine deficiency as a driver of aging
Singh P, Gollapalli K, Mangiola S, Schranner D, Yusuf MA, Chamoli M, et al. · 2023 · Science · n=250 · 1000 mg/kg body weight/day in mice (oral, daily, ad libitum equivalent), roughly 6-11 g/day human-equivalent by body-surface-area scaling; not a human dose ever tested · Until natural end of life (median ~2+ years in mice)
ingredient-levelpeer-reviewed
Taurine-supplemented mice lived 10-12% longer at median lifespan and 18-25% longer in life expectancy at 28 months versus controls; supplementation also improved markers of bone density, muscle strength, glucose handling, DNA damage, mitochondrial function, and immunosenescence in mice and healthspan markers in monkeys. No lifespan data exist in monkeys or humans, this is the study responsible for taurine's 'longevity supplement' reputation, but it is a mouse/worm lifespan finding, not a human one.
This is the single most consequential taurine study in the public conversation, and it is entirely non-human for the lifespan endpoint. The authors themselves state that 'long-term, well-controlled taurine supplementation trials that measure health span and life span as outcomes are required' in humans. It should never be cited as evidence that a human taking a BulkSupplements scoop of taurine will live longer.
Conflicts: Multi-institutional academic funding (NIH, Column, Buck Institute co-authors); no supplement-industry sponsor disclosed
Tier 5Mechanistic / animal / marketing
Is taurine an aging biomarker?
Lawler M, et al. (NIA/NIH-led, Baltimore Longitudinal Study of Aging investigators) · 2025 · Science · Not applicable, observational biomarker study, no supplementation arm · Longitudinal, multi-year cohorts
ingredient-levelpeer-reviewed
Circulating taurine levels increased or stayed flat with age in humans, monkeys, and mice (except male mice, which were unchanged), the opposite of the decline the 2023 Science paper reported. The authors conclude taurine decline is 'not a universal feature of aging' and that taurine is unlikely to be a reliable aging biomarker.
This is a direct, high-profile scientific rebuttal of the core premise of the 2023 Singh et al. paper, published in the same journal (Science) and covered by an official NIH press release. It substantially weakens confidence in taurine's role as a driver or marker of human aging and should be weighted heavily against pop-science 'taurine reverses aging' narratives.
Conflicts: US government (NIH/NIA) funded; no supplement industry sponsor
Tier 5Mechanistic / animal / marketing
Experimental Evidence Against Taurine Deficiency as a Driver of Aging in Humans
et al. (human cross-sectional cohort study) · 2025 · Aging Cell (Wiley) · Not applicable, observational, no supplementation · Cross-sectional
ingredient-levelpeer-reviewed
Circulating taurine concentration was not associated with age, muscle mass, strength, physical performance, body composition, insulin sensitivity, or mitochondrial function in humans, directly challenging the human relevance of the Singh et al. 2023 mouse/monkey findings.
A second independent human dataset arguing against extrapolating the mouse longevity finding to humans; reinforces that the 'taurine deficiency drives aging' hypothesis has NOT been confirmed, and may not even hold, in humans.
Conflicts: Academic funding; none identified as supplement-industry sponsored
Tier 5Mechanistic / animal / marketing
GRAS Notice 586: Taurine (safety review submission to FDA)
Submitter to FDA GRAS Notification Program · 2015 · FDA GRAS Notice · Up to 6,000 mg/day for up to 1 year (EFSA-reviewed 'observed safe level'); no adverse effects reported up to 20 g/day for up to 6 weeks, or ~9 g/day for 7 weeks to 1 year, in subjects with normal kidney function · Up to 1 year in cited human studies
ingredient-levelnot peer-reviewed
FDA GRAS review concludes taurine is safe at the doses reviewed; cites EFSA's 2009/2012 conclusion that 3-6 g/day for up to one year produced no adverse health effects, and Shao & Hathcock (2008) identifying an Observed Safety Level (OSL) of 3,000 mg/day.
This is the primary regulatory safety document underpinning the widely cited '3 g/day EFSA safe upper level' figure; note EFSA's own observed-safe-level figure is actually 6 g/day in some documents, while 3 g/day is the more conservative OSL used by other reviewers (Shao & Hathcock). We use 3 g/day as the commonly-cited conservative safety ceiling in consumer messaging, consistent with the brief.
Conflicts: Regulatory submission; sponsor not disclosed in publicly available FDA PDF
Evidence

Research behind this product

The studies that established the trial dose and evidence grade for each active ingredient in this product. Click through to read the original paper.

Claim check, vendor claims vs. our reading of the evidence

Not medical advice. We list the strongest claims made by the brand and check each against traceable evidence.

Supported
“"Performance Boost: Taurine is often used in active wellness routines to support endurance and physical performance. It's a common ingredient in pre-workout and energy-focused supplements."”
A 2018 meta-analysis of 10 human RCTs found taurine (1-6 g/day, acute or short-term) meaningfully improved endurance performance and time-to-exhaustion (Hedges' g ≈ 0.40-0.43) (https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/29546641/), and a 2021 review of taurine-in-sports literature reports consistent gains in time-to-exhaustion and anaerobic power at 1-6 g doses achievable with this product (https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC8152067/). The claim is appropriately hedged ('often used,' 'common ingredient') rather than making a hard efficacy guarantee.
Partial support
“"Muscle Recovery Support: Taurine may help support muscle function and recovery after exercise."”
Several human trials show taurine supplementation reduces post-exercise creatine kinase, lactate dehydrogenase, and oxidative stress markers associated with muscle damage (https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC8419774/, https://apcz.umk.pl/QS/article/view/66876), which is consistent with a recovery-support claim. However, effects are inconsistent across exercise types and the vendor's careful use of 'may help' matches the genuinely mixed evidence base.
Supported
“"Heart Health Support: Taurine plays a role in cardiovascular function and may help support healthy circulation."”
Multiple meta-analyses of human RCTs (25 trials, n=1,024, https://www.nature.com/articles/s41387-024-00289-z; additional pooled analyses summarized in https://pubs.rsc.org/en/content/articlehtml/2026/fo/d6fo01808d) show taurine at 1.5-6 g/day significantly reduces systolic and diastolic blood pressure and improves lipid profiles versus placebo. Note that EFSA formally rejected a heart-health claim for taurine under EU health-claim regulation in 2011 despite this RCT evidence, because the claim substantiation dossier submitted did not meet EFSA's specific evidentiary bar for authorized labeling language, a regulatory technicality, not necessarily a verdict against the underlying RCT data.
Partial support
“"Pure, high-quality, fine powder for seamless mixing" / general purity and quality framing across the BulkSupplements site”
A historical COA for this brand's taurine shows 99.10% assay purity against a ≥98.5% specification, which supports the purity claim for that lot (https://www.toxinless.com/taurine-bulksupplements-coa.pdf), and ConsumerLab's independent test of BulkSupplements.com Taurine found no quality problems (https://www.consumerlab.com/reviews/taurine-supplements-review/taurine/). However, BulkSupplements does not publish current, per-batch COAs on the product page, buyers must request one, and the company's own BBB complaint responses describe testing as occurring in its 'in-house laboratory,' which is a materially weaker assurance than an accredited, financially independent third-party lab (https://www.bbb.org/us/nv/henderson/profile/health-products/bulksupplementscom-1086-90022358/complaints).
Not supported
“Implied category association with 2023-24 'taurine as a longevity/anti-aging supplement' media narrative (not stated on this specific product page, but present in broader BulkSupplements and category marketing, and the reason many buyers search for taurine today)”
The BulkSupplements taurine product page itself makes no longevity or lifespan-extension claim, to the vendor's credit, its marketing sticks to energy, performance, recovery, and general cardiovascular support. But the Singh et al. 2023 Science mouse study (https://www.science.org/doi/10.1126/science.abn9257) that put taurine on the map as a 'longevity molecule' is a mouse/worm/monkey lifespan and healthspan study with NO human lifespan data, and two subsequent 2025 human studies (NIH-led biomarker study, https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/40472098/; independent human cohort study, https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC12507425/) found no association between circulating taurine and human aging markers, directly challenging the premise. The only trial designed to test taurine's effect on human biological aging (TauAge, NCT06613542, 4 g/day for 6 months in adults 55-75) is still running and has not reported results. Any buyer purchasing this product with the expectation of human longevity benefits is acting on animal data that two independent human studies have since called into question.

Regulatory status

Rules change often. We record when we last verified each row. See the full regulatory timeline →

What we could not verify

We list this openly. If a claim isn't backed by a source we can trace, we'd rather flag it than repeat it.

  • The specific third-party laboratory BulkSupplements uses for its 'tested by independent lab' claim is not named on the product page or in publicly available COAs; the company's own BBB complaint responses describe testing as occurring in its 'in-house laboratory,' creating ambiguity about whether 'third-party' testing is genuinely independent or an internal QC process.
  • No current, batch-specific Certificate of Analysis for this exact Taurine Powder SKU/lot is published online; a COA must be requested via https://www.bulksupplements.com/coa-request or by emailing cs@bulksupplements.com, and we could not independently confirm turnaround time or completeness of the COA provided.
  • The historical COA located for this brand's taurine (lot 121D0513, https://www.toxinless.com/taurine-bulksupplements-coa.pdf) is from an older production run and does not verify the purity of current inventory; taurine sourcing (raw material country of origin, listed as China on that COA) was also not independently reconfirmed for present-day batches.
  • BulkSupplements' on-site review score (4.85/5 from 1,968 reviews per the product page's embedded schema) is a self-hosted rating system and was not cross-verified against an independent review aggregator for this specific SKU.
  • Trustpilot ratings for BulkSupplements vary meaningfully by regional domain and snapshot date (US ratings cited between roughly 2.0 and 3.6 out of 5 across different scrapes/regions/times, per https://www.trustpilot.com/review/bulksupplements.com, https://uk.trustpilot.com/review/bulksupplements.com, and https://de.trustpilot.com/review/bulksupplements.com), so we report a range rather than a single confirmed current figure.
  • No information was located on whether BulkSupplements screens this taurine product for banned athletic substances (e.g., NSF Certified for Sport or Informed-Sport certification), competing brands cited in third-party commentary flag BulkSupplements as lacking this specific higher-tier sport certification.
Important to know
TaurineVery cheap in powder form; capsules charge a premium for the same molecule.

Editorial notes

Cheapest reputable taurine at trial dose (Yadav 2023 Science paper).

Brand owners

Spot an error?

If you are the manufacturer or brand owner of Taurine Powder and believe any data on this page is incorrect (wrong dose, wrong ingredient, wrong price, missing certification, outdated status), you can request a correction.

We review every request, verify it against primary sources, and publish any accepted change with a dated note. Corrections from brand owners are treated the same as corrections from anyone else: verified before they move.

Request a correction →
Same shelf

Similar products

All Amino acid →

The next highest-scoring products in Amino acid, same scoring method, same rules.

Thorne HealthTech
Amino acid
Active per serving
Creatine 5 gPowder · 90 servings
Price per serving
$0.49$44.00 · 90 servings
Testing
3rd-party listed · no public lab certificate

Status as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Score & research context 8.9/10

Editorial score, not proof that this product works. Research-dose calculations are not dosing advice.

100%
of trial dose
$0.49
per research-dose day, not label serving
0Trial dose2×
Catalog price · Confirm current price with www.thorne.com
BulkSupplements
Amino acid
Active per serving
Glycine 3,000 mgPowder · 100 servings
Price per serving
$0.20$20.00 · 100 servings
Testing
3rd-party listed · public lab certificate

Status as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Score & research context 7.6/10

Editorial score, not proof that this product works. Research-dose calculations are not dosing advice.

100%
of trial dose
$0.20
per research-dose day, not label serving
0Trial dose2×
Catalog price · Confirm current price with www.bulksupplements.com
Double Wood Supplements
Amino acid
Active per serving
Glycine 1,000 mgCapsule · 120 servings
Price per serving
$0.17$19.95 · 120 servings
Testing
3rd-party listed · public lab certificate

Status as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Score & research context 7.6/10

Editorial score, not proof that this product works. Research-dose calculations are not dosing advice.

100%
of trial dose
$0.50
per research-dose day, not label serving
0Trial dose2×
Catalog price · Confirm current price with doublewoodsupplements.com
Same maker

Other products from BulkSupplements

Brand profile →
BulkSupplements
Mineral
Mineral per serving
Magnesium 310 mgElemental vs compound: check label
Price per serving
$0.44$19.97 · 45 servings
Testing
None listed

Status as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Score & research context 8.2/10

Editorial score, not proof that this product works. Research-dose calculations are not dosing advice.

100%
of trial dose
$0.43
per research-dose day, not label serving
0Trial dose2×
Catalog price · Confirm current price with www.bulksupplements.com
Mitochondrial
Active per serving
Alpha-Lipoic Acid 600 mgPowder · 166 servings
Price per serving
$0.13$21.97 · 166 servings
Testing
None listed

Status as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Score & research context 7.8/10

Editorial score, not proof that this product works. Research-dose calculations are not dosing advice.

100%
of trial dose
$0.13
per research-dose day, not label serving
0Trial dose2×
Catalog price · Confirm current price with www.bulksupplements.com
BulkSupplements
Amino acid
Active per serving
Glycine 3,000 mgPowder · 100 servings
Price per serving
$0.20$20.00 · 100 servings
Testing
3rd-party listed · public lab certificate

Status as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Score & research context 7.6/10

Editorial score, not proof that this product works. Research-dose calculations are not dosing advice.

100%
of trial dose
$0.20
per research-dose day, not label serving
0Trial dose2×
Catalog price · Confirm current price with www.bulksupplements.com
NAD+ booster
Precursor per serving
NMN 500 mgPowder · 100 servings
Price per serving
$0.22$21.97 · 100 servings
Testing
None listed

Status as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Score & research context 7.3/10

Editorial score, not proof that this product works. Research-dose calculations are not dosing advice.

100%
of trial dose
$0.22
per research-dose day, not label serving
0Trial dose2×
Catalog price · Confirm current price with www.bulksupplements.com
Amino acid
Active per serving
NAC 600 mgPowder · 166 servings
Price per serving
$0.13$20.97 · 166 servings
Testing
None listed

Status as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Score & research context 7.0/10

Editorial score, not proof that this product works. Research-dose calculations are not dosing advice.

100%
of trial dose
$0.13
per research-dose day, not label serving
0Trial dose2×
Catalog price · Confirm current price with www.bulksupplements.com