Basics: short version, verdict first People Molecules Peptides Biomarkers Studies Stem Cells Editorial Methodology
Layer 1 · Decision
← All products

Berberine-500

Metabolic · Capsule · 30 servings

Label snapshot

What the label says

What the product contains and what one serving costs, according to our catalog. Label amounts are not personal dose recommendations.

Active per serving
Berberine 500 mg
Form
Capsule
List price (catalog, USD)
$44.00
Price per serving
$1.47List price divided by servings per container. A per-day cost only if the label serving is once daily.
Full label record: servings, testing, ingredients
Servings per container
30
Catalog monthly estimate
$44.00
Testing disclosure
Brand lists third-party testing; no public lab certificate listedStatus as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Ingredients as listed

IngredientAmount per serving
Berberine500 mg

What to check on the label

  • Whether the figure is per capsule or per day, and how many capsules the label's daily serving contains.
  • The salt form named (berberine HCl, dihydroberberine, Ca-AKG). The catalog does not convert between forms.
  • Many labels carry interaction warnings for berberine. Read the label warning and the safety section on this page.

Amounts are per label serving as recorded in the catalog and are not a recommendation. Testing status reflects what the brand lists. Nothing here is medical advice.

Editorial score and research-dose calculations

These calculations describe our scoring method. They are not a recommended dose or proof of benefit from this product.

5.9/10
Overall score
#9 / 20 in Metabolic

Tested by independent lab.

Read the evidence (1 study)
Watch out
Tier 3
Ingredient RCT (matching dose)
The ingredient was tested in an RCT at the same dose this product sells.
See the 1 supporting study
How we scored this product Show the full breakdown
Composite How this 5.9 is built. 0.50 × 7.2 + 0.20 × 8.0 + 0.10 × 3.9 + 0.10 × 5.0 + 0.05 × 7.0 + 0.05 × 5.2 = 5.9 out of 10. Safety caps applied after. 5.9
5.9 composite
Dose vs. studies50%7.2
Transparency20%8.0
Value10%3.9
Formulation10%5.0
Safety5%7.0
Community5%5.2

Evidence gates dose: the evidence grade sets the ceiling, and the dose decides how much of that ceiling the product reaches. Value = inverse of price-per-trial-dose-day. Community = mean sentiment of external reviews. Safety caps applied after weighting.

This score is our editorial judgment, not a scientific standard. We combine published evidence, dose, price, transparency, and consumer signals into one composite: this is our method, not a peer-reviewed clinical rating. A higher score means a product does better on the factors we weight, not that it is medically proven to work.

Read the full method →

Editorial verdict

Quick verdict

5.9 / 10
Best for
Basic coverage
Avoid if
Only 56% of trial dose, No public lab certificate
Full-dose status
56% of trial dose
Price/month
$44
COA status
Not public
Biggest caveat
Berberine (500.0mg is 33% of the 1500mg trial dose) is significantly under-dosed.
Nearest alternatives
Catalog snapshot. Check linked sources for current price, label and batch-specific testing.
Price verification
Current price: $44.00
Last price check: Sep 01, 2026
Layer 2 · Context

Our summary

Thorne's Berberine-500 combines standard berberine HCl with a phytosome-complexed form in a single 1,000 mg/day (2-capsule) serving, a formulation choice with some support from a phytosome-specific RCT at a nearby dose, though no trial tests this exact dual-form combination directly. Like all berberine products, it delivers real but modest metabolic benefits on glucose and lipids, not the dramatic weight-loss effect implied by the 'Nature's Ozempic' framing that circulated on social media in 2023, which obesity-medicine specialists have explicitly and directly rejected. The product's phytosome-blend positioning is a reasonable bet on absorption technology, but buyers paying a premium for the dual-form claim should know that specific formulation has not been independently validated against simpler, cheaper berberine HCl alone.
In plain language

Why this scored this way

This Thorne HealthTech Berberine-500 scores 6.7, making it a mid-tier product with both strengths and weaknesses. It delivers 500mg of Berberine, 55% of the studied range low edge (900mg) with grade A evidence (strong human trial data). At $4.40/day it's among the more expensive options in Metabolic.

What drives the score up

  • Dose-evidence score of 7.2 shows decent alignment with trial doses.
  • Tested by independent lab (transparency 8.0).
  • Berberine has grade A evidence and is dosed at 55% of the trial dose.

What drags it down

  • Berberine (500.0mg is 33% of the 1500mg trial dose) is significantly under-dosed.
  • No public lab certificate available for independent verification.
  • Limited consumer feedback (community score: 5.2).
  • At $4.40/day it's on the expensive side.

Why you'd choose it

  • You want Berberine from a Thorne HealthTech product.
  • You want a tested by independent lab product.
  • You want doses that align with published research.

Why you might skip it

  • You want a product with a publicly available CoA.
  • You need a full trial dose of berberine (this product under-doses it).
  • You want a cheaper option (this is $4.40/day).
Question 1

Does the molecule work?

The science behind each active ingredient, independent of which brand sells it.

Berberine

Plant-derived AMPK activator; near-drug-strength effects on blood sugar and lipids.

1 landmark RCT · US: Dietary supplement · EU: Restricted in Italy (drug status ≥10 mg); food supplement elsewhere
Question 2

Is this bottle good?

The specific product: dose, price, transparency, and what buyers report.

Dose vs research
56% of trial dose
Below the full trial dose
Cost at trial dose
$4.40/day at trial dose
What one effective daily dose actually costs
Transparency
8.0/10 · No public lab certificate
Independent batch testing confirmed
Consumer signals
29 reviews across platforms · 3.6/5 · medium confidence
Operational signal only, never used as clinical evidence
Question 3

What's the catch?

Safety flags, transparency gaps, dosing concerns, and recurring buyer complaints.

Safety signals
Drug interaction risk — berberine
Berberine inhibits CYP3A4, CYP2D6, and CYP2C9 even at moderate doses. Documented interactions with immunosuppressants, statins, anticoagulants, and antidiabetic drugs. Consult a physician if taking prescription medications.
Read more
Safety flag
berberine: CYP3A4 interactions
Dose or interaction risk detected. See ingredient page for details.
No public lab certificate
Certificate of Analysis not published
Without a public lab certificate, batch purity and potency cannot be independently verified.
Buyer complaints
Trustpilot: poor customer service; Trustpilot: shipping delays
Recurring themes from consumer review platforms.
Plain English

What’s inside

The main ingredients of this product, in plain language.

Berberine500 mgEvidence A

Plant-derived AMPK activator; near-drug-strength effects on blood sugar and lipids.

Read about Berberine →
Layer 3 · Evidence vault

Product data & verification

Hard numbers and independently checked status. Expand each block for its source.

The numbers

Price
$44
per bottle · 30 servings
Dose vs. research
Below trial dose 56%
of published effective dose
$ / day at studied dose
$4.40
what one effective daily dose costs
$ / g active
$2.93
per gram of active substance
Independently checked

Data verification

COA status
Not public
Evidence grade
A
Per-ingredient breakdown
ABerberine

All product data is checked against original sources. Prices, doses, and testing status are updated when product pages change. Evidence grades are reviewed when new human RCTs are published. Read how we verify.

What's inside

Ingredient
Dose in this product
Trial dose
Evidence
Berberine
Plant-derived AMPK activator; near-drug-strength effects on blood sugar and lipids.
500 mg 33% of trial dose
1500 mg
2.0 /5
Medium confidence Price exceeds satisfaction
29 reviews across 4 platforms (4 sources)
Source diversity: 92%
AmazonRedditTrustpilotiHerb
Praiseeffective for blood sugar controlgood quality
Complaintspoor customer serviceshipping delays
Last checked: 2026-08-20

Consumer signals

3.6 out of 5 across 29 verified reviews on 5 platforms.

Medium confidence

Consumer sentiment compiled from 4 public sources.

29 reviews · 1.8/5 · negative sentiment

Complaintspoor customer serviceshipping delays
Themes

Thorne's brand-level Trustpilot score remains poor, primarily due to customer-service and shipping issues.

Compiled from Trustpilot listing located during research; verified at build time.

positive sentiment

Praiseeffective for blood sugar controlgood quality
Complaintsone report of small quantity for price (India)
Themes

Most Amazon reviews are positive on effectiveness and quality, with a rare complaint about quantity for price.

Compiled from Amazon listing located during research; verified at build time.

positive sentiment

Praisesupports weight managementno stomach upsetpleasant taste
Themes

iHerb reviewers report good tolerability and support for weight management goals.

Compiled from iHerb listing located during research; verified at build time.

3 threads discussed · mixed sentiment

Praiseconsidered a reputable, well-tested option
Complaintsmost expensive option without clearly superior results
Themes

Reddit reviewers rate it as reputable but note it's pricier than alternatives without a clear performance edge.

Compiled from Reddit listing located during research; verified at build time.

2 threads discussed · positive sentiment

Themes

frequently compared head-to-head against NOW Foods berberine on formulation and price

appetite suppression and cholesterol management cited as the main reasons people choose it

These are consumer sentiment signals. They do not measure whether the product actually works. See our evidence section for that.

Independent external anchors

Public sources on this same product, unrelated to NO1GEVITY. NIH DSLD is the US government's registered label database (shown verbatim). SuppCo.com is a separate, unaffiliated commercial site with no partnership or data-sharing arrangement with us. NO1GEVITY scores are computed independently of both.

Unaffiliated third-party site
SuppCo.com

SuppCo is a separate, unaffiliated supplement-tracking site with no partnership, data-sharing agreement, or business relationship with NO1GEVITY. We are not endorsed by them and they do not endorse us. The two facts below are individually verified against the manufacturer or NSF; the outbound link is provided only so readers can independently cross-check on a third-party site if they want to.

Tested by independent lab, YesNSF certified, Yes
NIH DSLD registered label
DSLD ID 199415, UPC 6 93749 04800 8
Serving size1-2 Capsule(s)
Servings per container30
Supplement Facts panel, verbatim
Berberine HCl1 Gram(s)

What others say, with a source hierarchy

We treat external opinion very differently depending on where it comes from. Tier A is our strongest signal. Tier C is background sentiment only. Tier Rejected is what we excluded, listed openly so you can see what we discarded.

These reviews are aggregated from third-party sources, not written by NO1GEVITY. Each entry shows its source, retrieval date, and whether the source has an affiliate or paid relationship. We do not edit reviews to change their meaning. Disclosure policy.

Tier A

Independent deep reviews, lab tests, certificates of analysis

Our strongest external evidence. Long-form independent reviews, physical-product lab work, and third-party certifications.

Innerbody, 'Best Berberine Supplement' roundup
Has affiliate relationship Not a paid placement

Innerbody's 2026 berberine comparison favors other brands over Thorne's for its top recommendation slots, despite Thorne's generally strong manufacturing reputation across its broader catalog.

Finding: Names Double Wood Supplements Berberine as best overall and Toniiq Berberine 97% as runner-up in its 2026 rankings of 7 products; Thorne's Berberine-500 is not named in either top slot.
How we use it: Used for category-context on competitive positioning; not used to make a specific claim about this SKU's dose-efficacy match.
Layer 3 · Evidence vault

Evidence, claims & regulation

Published evidence, claim checks, regulatory status and what could not be verified.

Evidence, what actually backs this product

Longevity brands rarely test their exact finished product. We separate what's tested from what's inferred.

Strongest evidence tier
Tier 3Ingredient RCT (matching dose)
3 studies mapped
Tier 3Ingredient RCT (matching dose)
Berberine phytosome improves glycaemic control in patients with prediabetes: the HIMABERB randomized controlled trial
HIMABERB Study Investigators · 2023 · Peer-reviewed endocrinology journal (PMC-indexed) · n=34 · 500 mg berberine, 3 times/day (1,500 mg/day total, phytosome formulation) · 12 weeks
ingredient-levelpeer-reviewed
Significant reduction in glycemic markers (fasting glucose, HbA1c) versus baseline/comparator, with no serious adverse events reported.
This trial used a berberine phytosome formulation and total daily dose (1,500 mg/day) very close to Thorne's Berberine-500 label dose components (450 mg HCl + 550 mg phytosome per 2-capsule serving) and to Life Extension's labeled 3x/day regimen (1,530 mg/day total from 3 capsules). Small sample size (n=34) limits statistical power.
Conflicts: Phytosome formulation is a branded ingredient technology; specific trial funding source not disclosed in available summary
Tier 4Ingredient RCT (different dose)
Efficacy and safety of berberine in the treatment of type 2 diabetes and metabolic syndrome: an updated systematic review and meta-analysis
Multiple (2024/2025 meta-analysis) · 2024 · Peer-reviewed metabolic/endocrinology journal (PMC-indexed) · Varied across pooled trials, generally 900-1,500 mg/day · Varied, generally 8-24 weeks across pooled trials
ingredient-levelpeer-reviewed
Berberine significantly reduced triglycerides (-0.367 mmol/L), fasting glucose (-0.515 mmol/L), waist circumference (-3.27 cm), LDL-C, total cholesterol, BMI (-0.435 kg/m^2, p=0.043), and 2-hour OGTT glucose versus placebo/control; no significant effect on HDL-C or systolic/diastolic blood pressure.
This is the strongest available evidence for berberine's real but modest metabolic effects. The BMI reduction (-0.435 kg/m^2) is the key comparator against GLP-1 agonist weight-loss claims, it is far smaller than what semaglutide (Ozempic/Wegovy) produces, directly undercutting the 'Nature's Ozempic' framing used in TikTok-driven marketing.
Conflicts: Not disclosed in available summary; treated as independent academic meta-analysis absent contrary information
Tier 5Mechanistic / animal / marketing
Forget TikTok claims: 'Nature's Ozempic' is no such thing, experts say
CNN Health (reporting on expert commentary from Dr. Caroline Apovian, Harvard Medical School, and Dr. Justin Ryder, Northwestern University/Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children's Hospital) · 2023 · CNN · N/A · N/A
ingredient-levelnot peer-reviewed
Dr. Apovian (co-author of Endocrine Society obesity guidelines): 'There is no evidence to support the claim that it is nature's Ozempic.' Dr. Ryder's analysis found berberine reduces BMI by approximately 0.25 points vs. placebo in meta-analysis, compared to semaglutide/Ozempic-class drugs reducing BMI by approximately 4.61 points vs. placebo, roughly an 18-fold difference in effect size for weight loss specifically.
Directly and explicitly contradicts the 'Nature's Ozempic' TikTok framing that both Life Extension's and Thorne's berberine products could be purchased in response to. This is the central claim-check finding for this ingredient across both dossiers in this batch.
Conflicts: None identified, independent medical experts quoted by a news outlet, not sponsored content
Evidence

Research behind this product

The studies that established the trial dose and evidence grade for each active ingredient in this product. Click through to read the original paper.

Claim check, vendor claims vs. our reading of the evidence

Not medical advice. We list the strongest claims made by the brand and check each against traceable evidence.

Not supported
“Berberine is 'Nature's Ozempic', a natural alternative achieving similar metabolic/weight-loss effects to GLP-1 agonist drugs (a claim circulated widely on TikTok and picked up by some retailers/influencers, not necessarily stated verbatim on the brand's own product page)”
Medical experts directly and explicitly reject this framing. Dr. Caroline Apovian (Harvard Medical School, co-author of Endocrine Society obesity guidelines) states plainly: 'There is no evidence to support the claim that it is nature's Ozempic' (https://www.cnn.com/2023/07/04/health/berberine-nature-ozempic-wellness). Meta-analysis data cited in that same reporting shows berberine reduces BMI by roughly 0.25 points versus placebo, while semaglutide-class drugs reduce BMI by roughly 4.61 points versus placebo, an approximately 18-fold difference in weight-loss effect size. Separately, a 2024 meta-analysis confirms berberine's real effects are on triglycerides, fasting glucose, waist circumference, and LDL-C, with only a modest BMI reduction (-0.435 kg/m^2, https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC12307485/), genuine metabolic benefits, but nowhere near GLP-1 agonist potency for weight loss. This is the single most consequential claim-check verdict in this dossier batch: berberine's real evidence base does not support the 'Nature's Ozempic' comparison.
N/A, this is a viral social-media claim (TikTok, 2023) associated with the ingredient category, not a direct quote from this vendor's product page; included per the research brief's explicit instruction to claim-check this framing
Unverifiable
“Dual-form berberine (HCl + phytosome) offers enhanced absorption versus plain berberine HCl”
Phytosome delivery technology has independent pharmacokinetic support for other polyphenol compounds (e.g., curcumin phytosome), and berberine phytosome specifically was used in the positive HIMABERB RCT (https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC10483788/) at a dose close to this product's. However, no head-to-head trial comparing Thorne's specific dual HCl+phytosome blend against plain berberine HCl at matching total doses was located, so the incremental absorption benefit of combining both forms in one capsule (versus either form alone) is not independently confirmed.
Supported
“Supports healthy glucose and lipid metabolism”
This is well supported by the berberine evidence base generally, including the phytosome-specific HIMABERB RCT (https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC10483788/) and the broader 2024 meta-analysis (https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC12307485/), both showing significant glucose and lipid improvements at doses close to this product's label amount.

Regulatory status

Rules change often. We record when we last verified each row. See the full regulatory timeline →

What we could not verify

We list this openly. If a claim isn't backed by a source we can trace, we'd rather flag it than repeat it.

  • No public per-batch Certificate of Analysis was located for this specific SKU.
  • No RCT was located using this exact dual HCl+phytosome blend as the study material; the closest match (HIMABERB) used a phytosome-only formulation at a somewhat higher total dose (1,500 mg/day vs. this product's 1,000 mg/day).
  • The specific incremental benefit of combining berberine HCl with berberine phytosome in one product, versus either form alone, has not been independently tested.
  • Drug-interaction risk (statins, anticoagulants, antidiabetics) via CYP3A4/CYP2D6/CYP2C9 inhibition is a real, non-trivial safety consideration not prominently flagged on the vendor's retail page.
  • Exact meal-timing/split-dosing instructions for the 2-capsule daily serving were not fully confirmed beyond the total per-serving amount.
Important to know
BerberineStandard berberine has ~5% oral bioavailability. Dihydroberberine and berberine phytosomes absorb better. Split doses across meals (500 mg × 3) to avoid GI upset.

Editorial notes

A straightforward 500mg berberine HCl capsule at a dose consistent with the metabolic-health literature (typically 900-1500mg/day in trials, so 2x daily dosing is required to approach study-level intake).

Brand owners

Spot an error?

If you are the manufacturer or brand owner of Berberine-500 and believe any data on this page is incorrect (wrong dose, wrong ingredient, wrong price, missing certification, outdated status), you can request a correction.

We review every request, verify it against primary sources, and publish any accepted change with a dated note. Corrections from brand owners are treated the same as corrections from anyone else: verified before they move.

Request a correction →
Same shelf

Similar products

All Metabolic →

The next highest-scoring products in Metabolic, same scoring method, same rules.

DoNotAge
Metabolic
Active per serving
Berberine 1,500 mgPowder · 30 servings
Price per serving
$1.00$30.00 · 30 servings
Testing
3rd-party listed · public lab certificate

Status as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Score & research context 8.3/10

Editorial score, not proof that this product works. Research-dose calculations are not dosing advice.

100%
of trial dose
$1.00
per research-dose day, not label serving
0Trial dose2×
Catalog price · Confirm current price with donotage.org
Double Wood Supplements
Metabolic
Active per serving
Berberine 500 mgCapsule · 60 servings
Price per serving
$0.33$19.95 · 60 servings
Testing
3rd-party listed · public lab certificate

Status as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Score & research context 6.8/10

Editorial score, not proof that this product works. Research-dose calculations are not dosing advice.

56%
of trial dose
$1.00
per research-dose day, not label serving
0Trial dose2×
Catalog price · Confirm current price with doublewoodsupplements.com
Nootropics Depot
Metabolic
Active per serving
Berberine 500 mgCapsule · 60 servings
Price per serving
$0.42$25.00 · 60 servings
Testing
3rd-party listed · public lab certificate

Status as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Score & research context 6.8/10

Editorial score, not proof that this product works. Research-dose calculations are not dosing advice.

56%
of trial dose
$1.25
per research-dose day, not label serving
0Trial dose2×
Catalog price · Confirm current price with nootropicsdepot.com
Same maker

Other products from Thorne HealthTech

Brand profile →
Thorne HealthTech
Amino acid
Active per serving
Creatine 5 gPowder · 90 servings
Price per serving
$0.49$44.00 · 90 servings
Testing
3rd-party listed · no public lab certificate

Status as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Score & research context 8.9/10

Editorial score, not proof that this product works. Research-dose calculations are not dosing advice.

100%
of trial dose
$0.49
per research-dose day, not label serving
0Trial dose2×
Catalog price · Confirm current price with www.thorne.com
Thorne HealthTech
Mineral
Mineral per serving
Magnesium 200 mgElemental vs compound: check label
Price per serving
$0.87$52.00 · 60 servings
Testing
3rd-party listed · no public lab certificate

Status as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Score & research context 8.6/10

Editorial score, not proof that this product works. Research-dose calculations are not dosing advice.

100%
of trial dose
$1.30
per research-dose day, not label serving
0Trial dose2×
Catalog price · Confirm current price with www.thorne.com
Thorne HealthTech
NAD+ booster
Precursor per serving
NR 400 mg+ Betaine (TMG) 25 mg
Price per serving
$1.08$65.00 · 60 servings
Testing
3rd-party listed · public lab certificate

Status as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Score & research context 7.7/10

Editorial score, not proof that this product works. Research-dose calculations are not dosing advice.

100%
of trial dose
$0.81
per research-dose day, not label serving
0Trial dose2×
Catalog price · Confirm current price with www.thorne.com
Thorne HealthTech
Multi/greens
Ingredients listed
5 ingredients listedlargest listed: Magnesium 20 mg
Price per serving
$1.07$32.00 · 30 servings
Testing
3rd-party listed · no public lab certificate

Multi-ingredient bundle

Status as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Score & research context 7.1/10

Editorial score, not proof that this product works. Research-dose calculations are not dosing advice.

100%
of trial dose
$1.07
per research-dose day, not label serving
0Trial dose2×
Catalog price · Confirm current price with www.thorne.com
Thorne HealthTech
Connective tissue
Active per serving
Collagen Peptides 13 gPowder · 30 servings
Price per serving
$2.10$63.00 · 30 servings
Testing
3rd-party listed · no public lab certificate

Undisclosed amounts noted

Status as recorded in the catalog from brand materials; not independently verified by NO1GEVITY.

Score & research context 7.0/10

Editorial score, not proof that this product works. Research-dose calculations are not dosing advice.

100%
of trial dose
$1.62
per research-dose day, not label serving
0Trial dose2×
Catalog price · Confirm current price with www.thorne.com